• Tasmanian Jock Goodyer made a perfect start to his Pro Sprintcar racing career with victory on night 1 of the Dirt X Ind. Australian Pro Sprintcar Championship at the Avalon Raceway on Friday night. After starting on the pole Goodyer led the entire way in the shortened A-main to defeat South Australian Daniel Pestka and local Victorian Jake Smith.

    “I really must that Domain (Ramsay) for the opportunity to race his car this weekend. His equipment is very similar to what I run so I have felt pretty comfortable in the car. We made a few changes throughout the night just to get it a little better and in that main event we were pretty good. But we still have a lot of work to do, we need to get through the heat race and then see what happens in the main event” added Jock following his win.

    The race ended up being declared 1 lap short after Ricky Maiolo, who was running third, hooked a rut in turn 1 and rolled, ending what had been an outstanding night for the South Australian veteran.

    Brett Milburn, Michael Tancredi, Tate Frost, Matthew Symons, and Josh Buckingham completed the drivers on the lead lap. Maiolo was classified in ninth, with Phil Micallef, Brett Smith, Paul Solomon, defending Champion Mark Caruso, Terry Kelly, Tim van Ginneken, Ryan Jones and Queensland Champion Brodie Davis completing the field.

    It could have been a whole lot better for Jones who was running sixth before being caught up with the slower car of Davis, with the result being Jones inverting the carbon black #S63 in turn 4.

    All positions in the Preliminary A-main are provisional pending overnight technical inspections.

    The opening round of heats saw the line-ups inverted from their qualifying results with former four times Champion Ryan Jones winning the opening heat. Heat two was an all the way win for Dillon Siely with newly crowned Victorian Champion Michael Tancredi winning heat 3.

    Heat 4 is when the trouble began with the red lights coming on for separate incidents, the first for Jack Van Bremen in turn three on the opening lap. The red lights would then come on again with two laps remaining as Brenten Farrer rode out a wild crash on the front straight after contact with Mount Gambier’s Scott Enderl. Veteran Phil Micallef would take the win ahead of a hard charging Daniel Pestka, with Queenslander Libby Ellis completing the top three.

    Heat 5 would prove to be just as tough to complete with multiple red lights including Dan Scott, who rolled on the opening lap in turn two, while Marcus Green rolled later in the heat after making contact with a spinning Justin Drew. Tate Frost would go on to win what was a marathon heat ahead of Ricky Maiolo and Ryan Davis.

    With the faster cars up front for the final 5 heat races the heat racing calmed down a little with only one more roll over, that of Ben Morrison in heat 8. The heat winners in round 2 included former Australian Champion Brett Milburn, Jock Goodyer, Tim Van Ginneken, Daniel Pestka and Ricky Maiolo.

    The B-Main saw Mildura racer Terry Kelly, Brett Smith, Paul Solomon, and Matthew Symons transfer to the back of the 18-car preliminary A-Main.

    The action will continue on Saturday (April 13) at the Avalon Raceway with a further round of heats, with a top 6 invert, C, B mains before the 40 lap Dirt X Ind. Australian Pro Sprintcar Championship finale.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway