• Friday the 28th of February saw the Super Rod’s take to Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway Sungold stadium for the Super Rod Shakedown where it was Laang’s Troy Gleeson who secured the win ahead of Paul Verhoeven and Jason Kavanagh.

    In the first heat saw Kavanagh take a green to checker win ahead of Jamie May and Gleeson third. This heat was marred when the car of Dane Court spun in the last corner with Michael Coad unable to avoid contact with both cars sustaining substantial damage, Court with a bent chassis and Coad with rear end damage ending their night’s campaign.

    Gleeson took an all the ways win in heat two when he led home May and Paul Verhoeven. Heat three saw May chase down early race leader Rieck to secure the win with Gleeson rounding out the top three.

    The grid for the final saw May and Gleeson making up the front row, they were followed by Kavanagh, Rieck, Paul Verhoeven, Neville Gange, Sally Woolstencroft and Adam Verhoeven. With cars of Cordina that had been driven in heats two and three by Esther Thompson eliminated after making heavy contact with the wall and Paul Baker who was dealing with some car gremlins.

    It was May who made the best of the starts leading away from Gleeson, Kavanagh and Paul Verhoeven. Lap two saw Gleeson move into the lead before a caution in lap four when the car of May spun. At the restart it was Gleeson who led the way from Kavanagh, Paul Verhoeven and Rieck. Gleeson was able to take a handy lead with the battle for the minor placings, with two laps remaining Paul Verhoeven was able to move past Kavanagh and into second position. However, it was Gleeson who went on to take a convincing win ahead of Paul Verhoeven, Kavanagh, Rieck, May, Adam Verhoeven, Gange and Woolstencroft.

    Hopper’s Crossing’s Jamie May added his name to an illustrious honour roll on Saturday 29th of February when he claimed his maiden Super Rod Cup when the Super Rod’s competed at Warrnambool’s Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway. May led the race for the entirety of the 25 laps ahead of Shaun Walsh and Troy Gleeson.

    In the first heat of the night it was a green to checker win for Jason Kavanagh who led home Gleeson with Corey Deglaitis home in third. Heat two saw Allan Pitcher make the most of his front row starting position to seize the win with May home in second and Howard Stansfield rounding out the three.

    Gleeson claimed an all the ways win in the third heat when he led home Walsh and Deglaitis. The fourth heat saw May go one up on his previous heat to take the win ahead of Paul Verhoeven and Stansfield third.

    Heat five went the way of Walsh when went flag to flag ahead of Kavanagh and Dane Court completing the podium. Michael Coad claimed the last heat win of the night when he held out May to secure the win with Stansfield third.

    The line up for the 25 lap Super Rod Cup saw May starting from pole position with Walsh from two, they were followed by Kavanagh, Coad, Stansfield, Gleeson, Pitcher, Deglaitis, Court, Adam Verhoeven, Paul Verhoeven, Neville Gange and Sally Woolstencroft.

    From the drop of the green it was May who made the best of the starts leading away from Walsh, Kavanagh and Coad. They continued in this fashion with May setting the pace, the battle for the minors was in full swing with Coad moving into third in lap nine.
    In lap seventeen the race came to a caution when the cars of Adam Verhoeven rode the wheel of Deglaitis resulting in a minor incident. With the single file restart it was May with Walsh hot on his heels looking for a chance to snatch the lead, but May was able to withstand the challenge while Gleeson was able to capitalise and move his way into position three.

    May went on to greet the checker first having led the race for every lap to secure the Super Rod Cup with Walsh coming home second and Gleeson rounding out the podium, they were followed by Gange, Stansfield, Coad, Kavanagh, Deglaitis, Court, Paul Verhoeven and Sally Woolstencroft.

    The next meeting for the Super Rods will be this coming Sunday 8th of March at Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway where they will support night two of the Australian 360 Sprintcar Title.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway