• Not since 1981 has West Gippsland seen Saturday night Speedway and this Saturday an enormous crowd is expected for the mid-afternoon Drouin Speedway start with important feature events for the Standard Saloons, Sports Sedans and Crash and Bash Ladies.

    Drouin Speedway’s committee has worked hard to secure access to some lights and with an opportunity to test out the lights and the interest in night time racing, Drouin will start at 2pm and hope to switch the lights on around 7.30pm as the sun starts to drop.

    Excited race drivers clambered to get their name on the entry list to be a part of history and some great names are ready to put on a great show.

    The Standard Saloons will compete for the Sally Memorial feature event in honour of the late wife of committee member Paul Walkinshaw. Sally was a great lady and this media representative had the pleasure of meeting her. She is dearly missed by those that knew her, most importantly by her husband and children.

    Victory will be tough to come by with Jeff Blencowe, Leigh Gooding, Mitch Blencowe, Kane Gibson, Mick Coomer, Travis Evans our Eliminator Cup feature winner, Joseph Otimi, Victor Benson and Trish Dike in amongst the competition. It is hard to look past Evans however. Until he won the last show, Jeff Blencowe was the man to beat. It will be on as bragging rights loom large for the winner of this event, the first Sally Memorial at the first night-time show for 39 years.

    Sports Sedans have assembled a tough little field with Lee Beach who has become the hardest man to beat this year at the Alexandra Speedway included in the nominations. Wayne Alberni and Jake Blencowe fly the flag for the Drouin Club and are both capable of winning the Gippy Blitz. Lucas Conder if he has had time to freshen his good engine, will be up there in the action as will Chris Aarts. Robert Garlick, Daniel Kettels and Gavan Dorain are others capable of running towards the front of the field.

    Fans of destructive motorsport competition will be thoroughly entertained by the Ladies Crash and Bash competing in the ‘Hell in Heels’ event. Leanne Tipple-Young is the most credentialed of the competitors however Lea Judd, Kellie Latham, Sarah Price, Bianca Brown, Clare Lynch and Bronwyn Miles are just some of the competition that have every intention to win this show. Like the Standard Saloons and Sports Sedans, there is big bragging rights to win this event with no more night events scheduled for the season at Drouin.
    A supporting class is just being finalised.

    Gates open from 10am. Racing starts at 2pm.

    Entry will cost $15 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $10 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 to 16 will cost $40.

    General enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133

    Drouin Speedway Clubs proud sponsors are;
    Alberni Engineering,
    Baw Shire
    Berwick Legal
    Bottom Pub Bunyip
    Bunyip Bakery
    Flight Centre Warragul
    Keena Fencing
    Latrobe Waste and Recycling
    Leigh and Anne Gooding
    Longwarry Meatsafe
    Mighty Doors
    Miles Mechanical
    Monckton Concrete
    Norstar Steel Recyclers
    Napier Photography
    Nar Nar Goon Automotive
    On Site Medical Response
    Random Panda Photography
    S S Plastering and Painting
    STR8 Bricklaying
    TNT Auto Parts
    Victorian Crane Trucks
    Visual Signage Solutions
    Wilkar Constructions

    John Watson – Drouin 4
    Tegan Bullard – Alexandra 4
    Daniel & Clint Walkinshaw – Drouin 5
    Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
    Joseph Drennan – Nyora 10
    Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
    Mitch Blencowe – Drouin 12
    Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
    Jemima Borkowski – Drouin 13
    Ash Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
    Mark Borkowski – Drouin 17
    Robbie Noonan – Nyora 19
    Aaron Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
    Justin Hutchins – Nyora 23
    Matt Saunders – Nyora 28
    Wayne Gibson – Drouin 41
    Kane Gibson – Rosedale 41
    Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
    Mick Coomer – Drouin 76
    Travis Evans – Drouin 77
    Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
    Bradley Dickson – Nyora 84
    Joseph Otimi – Drouin 95
    Ash Dean – Nyora 95
    Victor Benson – Drouin 96
    Trish Dike – Nyora 37

    Wayne Alberni – Drouin 4
    Bailey Perkins – Nyora 4
    Lucas Conder – Ballarat 9
    Justin McKeegan – Ballarat 10
    Robert Edwards – Alexandra 11
    Troy Glassborow – Nyora 16
    Chris Aarts – Nyora 29
    Ray Gould – Nyora 37
    Gavan Dorain – Rosedale 49
    Daniel Kettels – Nagambie 49
    Robert Garlick – Alexandra 63
    Jasmin Molloy – Ballarat 72
    Jake Young – Nyora 73
    Lee Beach – Alexandra 88
    Jake Blencowe – Drouin 90

    Bianca Brown – 4
    Sarah Price – 8
    Marlena Argent – 11
    Leanne Tipple-Young – 19
    Erin Brown – 23
    Dette Miles – 42
    Kellie Latham – 84
    Bronwyn Miles – 134
    Kirsten McKendry – 154
    Jessica McKendry – 451
    Clare Lynch – 721
    Lea Judd – 911

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Drouin Speedway Club

    Travis Evans will be competing in the SALLY MEMORIAL for Standard Saloons (C) Random Panda Photography

    Lee Beach is a huge favourite to triumph in the Sports Sedans Blitz (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Ladies Crash and Bash will be massive, the girls hit hard (C) Napier Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, June 20, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, July 11, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, August 1, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, August 22, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Friday, September 4, 2020

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, September 5, 2020

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 12, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, September 19, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 26, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunday, September 27, 2020

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 3, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunday, October 4, 2020

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, October 10, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, October 17, 2020

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, October 23, 2020

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 24, 2020

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, October 31, 2020

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, November 7, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Saturday, November 14, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, November 21, 2020

  • Moama Speedway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie