Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • The 2015/16 Speedway City season came to a thundering end with the running of the 2016 Crane Services South Australian Late Model Title with the 30 lap finale providing one of the best races of the season as New South Welshman Ben Nicastri added the State Title to his growing resume. Second across the line was fellow Sydneysider Dean Hickey who edged past early race leader Matt Crimmins with only a handful of laps remaining.

    After winning the Gauge Works top 6 Dash Nicastri started on the pole ahead of Crimmins, Tasmanian Brad Smith, Steve Vaughan, Hickey and Victorian Brendon Hucker.

    The race didn’t get off to the best of starts for Hickey as he spun his Masters Built #91 in turn three of the opening lap but he was reinstated into his starting spot for the complete restart. Once the race got underway Nicastri paced the field and he led comfortably until he began to encounter lapped traffic and at the first opportunity Crimmins pounced in his #10 Rocket taking the lead on lap 13.

    From this point it appeared that a home town victory was on the cards until with only five laps remaining the situation was reversed as Crimmins got hung up behind Mark McCarthy with Nicastri retaking the lead and going on to win.

    The lapped car also cost Crimmins the runner-up spot as Hickey, who actually recorded the fastest lap of the final, also got by Crimmins with two laps remaining and he just fell short of rounding up Nicastri by .669 of a second.

    Fourth place went to Brad Smith with Steve Vaughan, Mount Gambier’s Stuey Hill and Luke Raymond completing the cars on the lead lap. Mark McCarthy, Cary McCarthy, Fiona Verhoeven and Kristen Vermeulen rounded out the finishers. Brendan Hucker, Tony Howlett and Victorian Tim McPherson failed to finish.

    Earlier in the night the heat winners were Nicastri, Crimmins, Vaughan and Hickey. The only real incident of the night occurred in heat three when Darryl Launer spun the car shortly after the green collecting the wall hard with Victorian Tim McPherson also involved. The damage sustained by Launer put him out for the rest of the night.

    The final meeting of the season included a healthy support program with Wingless Sprints, Super Sedans, AMCA Nationals, Junior Sedans and Street Stocks.

    The Wingless Sprints once again provided some top class entertainment but it was jake Ashworth who secured his third successive Speedway City A-Main event as he defeated Michael Spoljaric and Aaron Doe in the 25 lap decider. Fourth place went to Dan Evans followed by Victorians Adam Smith and Travis Beasley, while Kier Doe, Darryl Sloan, Robert Heard and Matthew Kennedy completed the top 10.

    The heat winners on the night were Mildura racer Jason Bolitho, Spoljaric, William Caruso and Ashworth, who won his heat after starting from position seven.

    The final night of competition also saw Round 15 of the JD Couriers Super Series, Presented by Universal Metal Cleaners, with the night being totally dominated by Ryan Alexander as he won both heats before smashing the 25 lap track record by over 11 seconds. Second in the final, more than a half a lap behind, was Michael Miller with Trevor Ware, Robbie Marchant and Graham Stewart completing the top five.

    In the remaining classes Jake Armstrong won his second consecutive AMCA national feature event as he claimed Round 8 of the Michael Lowe Track Championship, Kooper Greig won the Junior Sedan final and Paul Hayes was victorious in the Street Stocks.

    With the season now complete Bob and Wendy and the Speedway City Team would like to thank all of the Sponsors, Officials, Race Teams and Fans for their support throughout the 2015/16 season.

    The proposed 2016/17 calendar is now out with the opening event scheduled to take place on Saturday October 8, 2016.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Moora Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Western Speedway (Hamilton)
  • Friday, February 21, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020

  • Borderline Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Laang Speedway