• Strathalbyn’s Daniel Pestka drove into Speedway City’s “Jack Daniels Victory Lane” for the second time this season last Saturday night as he won a drama filled Sprintcar season finale. After starting on the pole for the City of Playford Mayors Cup Pestka pulled a massive wheel stand on the start forcing him to drop back into second but he was quickly back in front of the field as he made the pass on lap 6 and went on to win the 35 lap final ahead of Aidan Hall, who recorded a career best finish, and Mark Caruso.

    Fourth across the line went to veteran Jamie Cobby, who just missed out on recording his second consecutive podium result after starting from position seven while Like Dillon, who was driving the Matt Muir owned #53, finished fifth after coughing up second place on the final corner.

    With Pestka stuck in lapped traffic Dillon had one final lunge for the win in the final turn only to get all crossed up and as he got back on the gas the front wheels headed skywards with the end result being Dillon losing three spots in the final 100 metres of the gruelling race.

    Unfortunately the field was reduced dramatically even before the green flag fell as Brad Keller, Justin Sloan and Michael Burford all failed to front for the final. Keller decided to call it quits after sustaining substantial damage during his final heat after Todd Wigzell literally landed on the front end of the #19 after Wigzell got airborne after contact in turn four.

    Matt Egel, who was another pre-race favourite, also had a tough night after he made contact with Hayden Pitt in turn four during his final heat, with the end result being a steering failure that shot the #97 into the front straight wall and later onto its side.

    Earlier the heat winners were Steven Caruso, Mark Caruso, Hayden Pitt and Victorian Dion Bellman.

    The evening also included a massive support program with Wingless Sprints, Super Sedans, Street Stocks, AMCA Nationals, Junior Sedans and Late Models.

    In the Wingless Sprints Jake Ashworth captured his second consecutive Speedway City A-main victory as he defeated Robert Heard and Matthew Kennedy.

    The Super Sedans were contesting Round 14 of the JD Couriers Super Series with Michael Miller defeating Ryan Alexander in the 20 final. The race proved to be an entertaining affair after they both elected to start from the rear of the field. Third place went to Robbie Marchant.

    In the remaining feature events Jake Armstrong won Round 7 of the Michael Lowe AMCA Track Championship, Luke Raymond defeated the small field of Late Models, Nathan Thorne edged out Heath Thorne in the Junior Sedans while Paul Hayes dominated the Street Stock finale.

    Track Records Set on the Night:

    Wingless Sprints 10 lap – 2:33.26 Joel Chadwick
    Late Models 10 lap – 2:32.56 Luke Raymond
    Juniors 6 lap – 1:59.29 Heath Thorne
    Super Sedans 8 lap – 2:02.55 Michael Miller (Heat 1)
    Super Sedans 8 lap – 1:59.26 Ryan Alexander (heat 2)
    Super Sedans 1 lap – 14.71 secs Ryan Alexander

    The next and final event on the Speedway City calendar will be on April 23 with the running of the 2016 South Australian Late Model Championship with a field of over 20 drivers already confirmed.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Moora Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Western Speedway (Hamilton)
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Friday, February 21, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020

  • Laang Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway