• In what was a dominant display on Easter Sunday 16 year old Tyson Williams emerged as the inaugural South Australian Legend Car Champion at Adelaide’s Speedway City as he defeated Rob Rawlings and Victorian Champion Glen Arnold in the 20 lap Jack Daniel’s supported finale. After remaining undefeated throughout his heat races Williams had to work hard for the win after losing the lead early to Rawlings but he was able to wrestle the lead back and he went on to record his second feature win in as many nights following his win at Murray Bridge.

    Fourth across the line was Nathan Camilleri with Jacob Griffin and Hayden Pascoe, who was running inside the top three prior to a spin on lap 5, completing the top six.

    In front of what was a great crowd the Legend cars put on a great display often racing three wide in what was an impressive debut at the Adelaide venue. In all a total of 23 cars from New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory were present with the 8 lap heat races and the final thrilling the audience on hand.

    In addition to the two heat races that went the way of Williams the remaining two heats were shared between Rob Rawlings and Shane Younger, with Rawlings ending the night with a new 8 lap record of 2:27.62.

    Night 2 of the Easter Wingless Sprint Trail was the second major feature of the night with Jake Ashworth ending the unbeaten run of Joel Chadwick as he edged out Chadwick by less than a car length in the best Wingless Sprint main event of the current season. Third across the line in the Jack Daniels Easter Cup was Dan Evans with Chris Ferrall, Aaron Doe and Matthew Kennedy completing the top six. Earlier the heat wins went to Ferrall, Chadwick and Ashworth.

    With Speedway City hosting round 2, following the opening nights racing at Renmark, Dan Evans was declared the overall Easter Trail winner.

    The Speedway Shop Speedcar Stampede was also conducted with Queenslander Anthony Chaffey winning the final ahead of Nathan Squiers, Jamie Crouch, Mark Harrington and Todd Bennett. Bennett actually started on the front row alongside Chaffey but he threw a potential win away early in the race after he spun his #25 Eagle.

    Once the overall points from the Speedcar Stampede and the event the night prior at Murray Bridge were calculated Squiers was declared the winner of the two night series ahead of Chaffey and Harrington.

    A strong field of Junior Sedans were also on hand to race for the MJS Tree and Stump Easter Cup but it was a familiar sight on the podium as Nathan Thorne defeated his brother Heath in the 20 lap final with Josh Gwynne completing the podium. The top three B-Grade drivers were also rewarded with Tom Richter defeating Jake Richter and Drew Flatman.

    The overall Easter Cup, that included points collected at Speedway City and Renmark, was awarded to Nathan Thorne over Heath Thorne and Ashlee McEwin.

    Nathan Thorne also reset the 8 lap track record lowering the old mark set by Adrian Cottrell a decade ago to 2:39.57.

    In the National Karate Academies V6 Sprints it was South Australian Champion Nick Hall who defeated Chris James while Whyalla racer Andy Maxwell Jr won the Tyrepower / Ultra Tune Campbelltown Street Stock Feature.

    The night was also capped off by the annual Easter Sunday National Karate Academies Caravan Boat and Dunny Derby with Paul Penhall winning the 12 lap novelty event ahead of Geoff Flack and Adam Simons while Adam Stevens was given the Best Presented Award.

    The next meeting at Speedway City will be conducted on April 9, 2016 with the final 410ci Sprintcar show of the year with the running of the Jack Daniels / City of Playford Mayors Cup.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Moora Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Western Speedway (Hamilton)
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Friday, February 21, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020

  • Laang Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway