Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Last night Loxton’s Keke Falland won his first ever 410ci Sprintcar main event victory as he won a titanic flag to flag battle in Round 8 of the Revolution Racegear Speedway City Track Championship. After starting on the pole courtesy of his two heat victories he lost the lead early to pre-race favourite Daniel Pestka but at the mid race point he made the decisive move in turn three after Pestka hesitated as he attempted to lap the slower car of Michael Burford.

    “When Daniel got hung up behind Burford I knew I had to pounce. I didn’t have a good start and once Daniel got in front I didn’t really think I could win but I just sat back and waited and once the chance opened up I just took it. We learnt a lot doing Speedweek and the races at Warrnambool and we bought all of that back and used it tonight and here we are” added a delighted feature winner.

    Second place went to a revitalised Brendan Quinn who came up .164 of a second short of victory after making a last corner lunge at Falland. Quinn was clearly the fastest car on the race track in the latter stages as he railed the fence passing Pestka on the high side before setting sail after the race leader.

    Third place went to Pestka with Steven Caruso extending his series points lead with a fourth placed result over Sam Putland, who moved into second overall behind Caruso. Brendan Guerin had a solid run in sixth with Brock Hallett, Luke Bowey, Todd Wigzell and Dan Evans completing the top ten.

    Along with Falland heat wins went the way of Pestka and Putland while Quinn set the fastest time in Time Trials.

    Matt Egel had a tough night after rolling the Downing Brothers #97 in the opening heat after Brock Hallett spun in front of the field in turn four before finishing fifth in his second heat. Therefore he only qualified 11th in the 14 car field and he retired after only a handful of laps in the 20 lap finale.

    In addition to the Sprintcars the meeting also feature a massive support program including the Bert Fenton Speedcar Cup, Super Sedans, AMCA Nationals, Wingless Sprints, Street Stocks and Junior Sedans.

    Unfortunately the Speedcar field was reduced considerably for the 20 lap final after a multicar accident in the second heat in the opening turn resulted in the demise of Jamie Crouch, who slammed the wall hard, after trying to avoid Angelo Karoussis and Brett Ireland, who had made contact.

    But despite the small field the feature race was a tight contest as Todd Wigzell won his second feature of the season defeating Ben Hall in the non-stop race by a car length. Third place went to Nathan Squires who made an exciting last corner pass on Todd Bennett. Fifth place went the way of Whyalla racer Angelo Karroussis.

    With the Super Sedans being a late addition to the program the numbers were down slightly but the racing was still entertaining with Michael Miller claiming his first feature win of the season after he had earlier won both heat races. Second place went to veteran Robbie Marchant with Kaleb Perrett, Graham Stewart and Kym Jury completing the top five.

    In the remaining classes Michael Spoljaric won his first ever Wingless Sprint A-Main with William Caruso and Brett Ireland completing the podium while Jason Robinson was awarded the AMCA Nationals feature after Wayne Vickers was relegated two spots for an aggressive pass for the lead. Therefore Leanne Turner was elevated to second with Vickers in third.

    After a season that had been totally dominated by Holden drivers the Ford fans finally had something to cheer about in the Street Stocks as Carey Weston duplicated the performance of Keke Falland as he won in a Ford. Darren Flatman looked set to win again but Weston had other ideas as he chased him down and passed the multi time winner much to the delight of the crowd on hard. Third place went to a fellow Ford racer Daniel Karpinski. Finally Kooper Grieg proved too good in the Junior Sedan feature.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Thursday, January 23, 2020

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Friday, January 24, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Saturday, January 25, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, January 26, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Moora Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Solo Hobart Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway