Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • The Victorian Mini Sprint Club began their season on Sunday the 9th of November at Drouin Speedway with round one of the ‘Gold Cup’ series with a mixture of rookie racers and experienced drivers giving an entertaining account of themselves as Dave May went on to take a win in front of Owen Bulman & Jason Lynn.

    New drivers welcomed to the class included Brad Lowe formerly Dave May’s crew chief when the pair where involved in Dirt Modifieds, Luke Hickson driving for Danny Milton & Kyle Stathopoulos stepping up from Junior Quarter Midgets straight into Mini Sprints.

    Heat one resulted in a strong victory for Bulman driving his R1 Yamaha powered ‘Henchcraft’ racer. The # 7 ‘Hobson Designs/Stickerette’ supported car & driver won ahead of Kevin Bomford, Darren Schnoor, Lowe, Hickson (# 21 Alfred Engineering – R1 Yamaha) & Stathopoulos whilst May with mechanical breakdown after the engine chain came off & Lynn who spun on the very last lap of the race whilst on a good run failed to finish.

    A dash to turn one on lap one in heat two between Bomford & May who were lined up on the second row side by side (# 4 Tritech Lubricants/Noske Logistics – GSXR Suzuki) ended in catastrophe for Bomford with his rear end broken. His car was towed infield with a broken torsion stop whilst May could continue at a restart. May went on to take the win at the second go with Schnoor, Lowe (# 44 Allstate Custom Trailers/Geelong Transport Repairs – R1 Yamaha), Bulman, Lynn & Hickson whilst Stathopoulos had fuel filter issues and didn’t finish.

    Having fixed his damaged ‘Elite Metals’ supported R1 Yamaha powered Henchcraft, Bomford was ready to go again in the last heat where May again came out on top to take two from three heats for the day.

    Bomford was second then came Lynn in his R1 Yamaha powered race car, Bulman, Hickson, Lowe & Schnoor with Stathopoulos again a non finisher still struggling to overcome the fuel issues plaguing the # 99 ‘Kercar Transport’ supported car.

    May was going to be difficult to beat in the final based on the heat results however Bomford & Bulman looked the drivers most likely. For Bomford though, fuel pressure put an end to his challenge and left May being challenged by Bulman. Lynn was driving the best race he had been able to for many seasons & rookie Hickson after getting used to the race car in the heats, found a new speed in the final and ran strong.

    May led from start to finish and on un-official stop watch timing ran a 16.1 second race lap, which is the fastest lap at the venue for some time. Bulman had a great run in his new machine chasing the May and finishing in second, Lynn was third, Hickson, Schnoor (# 6 Browns Stockfeeds – R1 Yamaha), Lowe & Stathopoulos.

    After the days racing and the win Dave May was asked to share his thoughts. “I’m really happy to be back on track racing. This Mini Sprint group are a good bunch of people to race with & I spent a lot of time in the off season on my race car working on setting it up for myself this season knowing that Parsons, Bomford & Bulman would be strong.

    With an influx of new drivers & a focus on a national direction with our Queensland, New South Wales & Tasmanian counterparts, everything is looking up for Mini Sprint racing.”

    Victorian Mini Sprints thank ‘Allstate Custom Trailers’ for sponsoring club media releases.

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Victorian Mini Sprints

    Dave May through turn one at Drouin (C) Inaction Photos

    L to R: Lynn 3rd, Bulman 2nd & May 1st (C) Kevin Bomford

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, October 31, 2020

  • Whyalla Speedway Club
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Thursday, November 5, 2020

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, November 7, 2020

  • Pithara Speedway
  • Cairns Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway (Horsham)
  • Saturday, November 14, 2020

  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Thursday, November 19, 2020

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Friday, November 20, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, November 21, 2020

  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, November 28, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway