Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Mildura’s Robbie Faux has won the Speedway Sedans Australian Street Stock Title at the Borderline Speedway in Mount Gambier over the weekend.

    A life member of the Mildura Speedway Drivers Club Faux scored a thrilling victory over Anthony Beare and Jason Duell.

    The Finals were in some doubt after persistent light rain fell throughout the final round of qualifying heats, making track conditions difficult.
    Borderline Speedway track staff did a remarkable job to prepare the track when the rain ceased at 8.20pm which then resulted in three great finals.
    After thirty two qualifying heats, Anthony Beare would be the highest qualifier, and would be joined on the front row by Jamie Oldfield.

    Another Mildura driver Daniel Drewett, a former Club Committeeman, started with Dale Cockman on the second row, while the third row contained Mark Jennings and Mick Dann.
    Jamie Oldfield got the best of the start, and immediately took the lead ahead of Beare and Drewett, while Dale Cockman made a bad start which elevated Jennings and Dann.
    Oldfield had a great battle with Beare for the lead in the ensuing laps, before the two times Australian Champion again drove away from the field.

    Steve and Mark Gartner, along with Faux started to make a move through the field, while Brad McClure who had transferred from the B Main was starting to make his move and had got into the top ten.
    Oldfield had caught lapped traffic for the second time in the race, and was struggling to pass them as they were also fighting for position.
    Beare was able to close somewhat but Oldfield still had a commanding lead.

    Faux, Drewett, Cockman, Jason Duell, Steve and Mark Gartner were locked in a battle further back in the field with Beare coming under pressure from this group with twelve laps remaining.
    The race changed complexion with ten laps remaining when Oldfield spun in turn two, with a radiator issue seeing the retirement of the race leader.

    Meanwhile, Mark and Steve Gartner also retired with mechanical issues, which put Anthony Beare in front.
    The crowd could sense history, but no one had told Robbie Faux who immediately challenged Beare on the resultant restart.
    Beare moved to a handy buffer with six laps remaining before Faux closed again, taking the lead with three to go.
    Beare challenged on each subsequent corner, levelling up with Faux several times.

    In a desperate finish akin to the 2010 title, Beare moved under Faux in the last turn, with Faux holding on for a brilliant and popular victory, with the margin a mere 0.226 seconds.
    Behind Faux and Beare, Jason Duell drove a great race to come from fifteenth to finish third, while Daniel Drewett finished fourth and Dale Cockman fifth.

    "I have been trying to win this event for many years,” Faux said. “ I have always been a great supporter of Sedans and the National concept, and this is just awesome" said Robbie Faux

    Robbie Faux

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Thursday, January 23, 2020

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Friday, January 24, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Saturday, January 25, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, January 26, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Moora Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Solo Hobart Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway