Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • A huge second night of the season for Wangaratta City Raceway on and off the track with the racing once again sensational and the off track family Carnival atmosphere a hit with games activities, items for sale and food that you would all associate with a night at an agricultural show keeping kids big and small all very happy.

    With three features on the programme plus support races the big wins would go to Trevor Mills in the Production Sedans, Wayne Sheerman in Standard Saloons and Nathan Shortis in the visiting Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association finals.

    After winning all three of his heat races the ‘Burson’s Wangaratta Stampede’ Production Sedan top qualifier was Trevor Mills, however on this night, that only guaranteed him a spot in the battle for a starting spot in the top four for the final where local Wangaratta racer Raymond Ussher would pip him by .206 of a second to earn the pole position start spot for the twenty five lap final.

    At the start Mills assumed the lead of the race from Ussher, before Ussher’s teammate Brendon Harper moved to second on lap three. Craig McAlister from the Canberra Club moved into third on lap twelve as Ussher dropped to fourth. Johnny Ralph moved into the top three on lap eighteen passing Ussher and McAlister. Ralph, Harper and Ussher swapped places amongst themselves in the closing laps, however Mills went on to win from Harper, Ralph, Ussher and McAlister to pick up the winners cash.

    Wangaratta member Nathan Shortis was the top gun in the ‘Jabek Transport Invitational’ for the Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association. Shortis won all three of the heat races before leading all twenty five laps in the final to defeat Ross Maclean from Corowa. Shortis was nothing short of sensational. In third was Justin Brockley followed by Chelsea Cornelius and Tom Barnard.

    Thirty laps was the distance for the ‘Country Concrete Showdown’ Standard Saloon final and the lead swapped three times with positions second to fourth swapping numerous times throughout the race. Warrick Howie was the initial leader of the race then Trevor Evans before Wayne Sheerman took the lead on lap twenty-one. Sheerman went on to win from Evans, Mitch Blencowe, Michael Fleming-Robertson and Jeff Blencowe.

    Originally scheduled for another venue, the Grand Prix Midgets returned to Wangaratta for after cancellation of the other tracks racing for round two of the classes season point score. Returning was Janelle Saville from New South Wales who was looking for some small consolation after her Victorian title heartbreak two weeks earlier with her accelerator cable breaking after qualifying in pole position.

    Terry Brown and Chris Fowler qualified on the front row with Saville further back in the field. Fowler led the field on lap one and in that first lap Saville moved from eighth to second behind him. Saville took the lead on lap five and Ash Booker moved into third on the same lap. From there Saville was never headed as she went on to take the win from Fowler, Booker and Mark Blackeby.

    Marcus Maclean won the Junior Sedan final and Matthew Brooks won the Sports Sedan final.

    Wangaratta City Raceway is next in action on March the 27th when the Victorian AMCA National title will be held along with the Ned Kelly Cup for Modified Sedans and club classes.

    Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including;
    Burson Auto Parts
    Country Concrete
    Edge FM
    Jabek Transport
    Kore Concreting
    Keam Fertiliser
    North East Fasteners
    Robinson Truck Repairs
    Rouse Transport
    Snap-On Albury
    Solimo Towing
    Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
    Ussher Plumbing and Concreting
    Wangaratta Spring Works

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Wangaratta Speedway Club.

    Trevor Mills won the Production Sedan feature (C) Vern Parker Photography

    Wayne Sheerman won the Standard Saloon feature (C) Vern Parker Photography

    Nathan Shortis won the Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association final (C) Vern Parker Photography

    Janelle Saville won the Grand Prix Midget final (C) Vern Parker Photography

    Marcus Maclean won the Junior Sedan final (C) Vern Parker Photography

    Matthew Brooks won the Sports Sedan final (C) Vern Parker Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Thursday, March 4, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, March 6, 2021

  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, March 7, 2021

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, March 13, 2021

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Thursday, March 18, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, March 20, 2021

  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Narrogin Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Thursday, March 25, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Friday, March 26, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, March 27, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Nyora Speedbowl
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Thursday, April 1, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Friday, April 2, 2021

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway