• This Saturday night (December 10) the local stars will be out to defend their home turf as the Ti Bills Race Parts Wingless Sprint SA State Series heads to the South-East town of Mount Gambier for Round 2 of the four-event series. The local hometown contingent of Mitch Broome, Kirby Hillyer, Rory Button and Kahn Aston will compete in the record breaking 56 driver line up with Broome hoping to become the second feature winner of the inaugural Ti Bills series after recording a runner-up finish at Whyalla in the opening round.

    “I can’t wait to get back to Borderline to race against a big field of some of the best drivers in the country. It’s always good when the big meetings come to town and I hope I can go one better than I did in the first round of the Ti Bills series” added Mitch when we spoke as he prepared for Saturday night.

    “With a lot of rain outs and cancelations lately there is a big field of cars from Victoria who have come across along with the South Aussies so it should be a tough event and hope I can go well, but also just bank some more points towards the Ti Bills series”.

    In addition to Broome, Kirby Hillyer will also be a tough driver to beat on his home track as he is a perennial front runner in his immaculate #86 whenever and wherever he competes while Rory Button, who is a former Australian Champion, has been highly competitive since returning to the class after a stint in Sprintcars.

    After an all the way win in round 1 dual Australian Champion Joel Chadwick goes into round 2 as the series leader and he too is another driver who is extremely fast at the 372-metre clay way having recorded a runner-up finish at the venue in the South Australian Championship 12 months ago.

    Current State Champion Tyson Martin returns to the venue he captured the SA#1 last December and after missing the opening round he won’t have the points chase to consider, so he will just be all out for the feature win. Martin is already a dual feature winner this season at Murray Bridge. The talented South Australian line-up also includes Jack McCarthy, who also has two feature wins this season, Keke Falland, who was third at Whyalla, Hayden Vickers, Rylan Furler, Robert Heard, Nate Trewin, Anthony Tapley, Harley and Jesse Alexander, Bronson Mauro and William Caruso.

    But with the second round of the Ti Bills Series being contested so close to the Victorian border a highly competitive Victorian contingent will be out to upset the locals including former Australian Champion Alex Ross, dual Victorian Champion Luke Storer and former Australia #2 Luke Weel. After finishing fifth in the opening round Mildura’s Jordon Bolitho comes into the Borderline event as the highest placed Victorian and he will expect to be upfront once again while the likes of Blake Walsh, who has been racing quite regularly against the South Australians this season, his sister Carly, Christopher Halesworth, Aaron Kennett, Matthew Symons, Luke McCutcheon and Harry Ross will also be hard to beat.

    Northern Territorian John Murdie, who has committed to the entire series will also compete making Round 2 of the Ti Bills Race Parts Wingless Sprint SA State Series a real multi-state event.

    With such an impressive entry list the format for the night’s action will feature time trials in hot laps, 10 heat races, a D (if required), C and B-Mains prior to the top 20 drivers contesting the 30-lap Cleanaway supported A-Main.

    Next Event Details – Saturday 10th December 2022, Borderline Speedway, Mount Gambier – SA TiBills Series Rd 2 – Current Nominations (56 Cars): S1 Tyson Martin, V1 Luke Storer, S3 Keke Falland, V4 Carly Walsh, S5 Joel Chadwick, VX5 Luke McCutcheon, S6 Tyson Newton, V7 Nicholas Ryan, S8 Darryl Sloan, S10 William Caruso, V10 Will Scott, V11 Matthew Symons, S14 Matthew Tyler, V14 Ricky Bailey, VX14 Harry Ross, S15 Hayden Vickers, S17 Rory Button, S19 Michael Spoljaric, S20 Harley Alexander, V20 Thomas McDonald, S22 Jamie Crafter, V22 Craig McDonald, S23 Jack McCarthy, S26 Rylan Furler, S27 Mitchell Rigney, VX31 Mark Hutchins, VX32 Chris Ansell, S35 Mitchell Broome, VX37 Mitchell Glynn, S38 James Rodda, S41 Bronson Mauro, VX41 Aaron Kennett, S47 Anthony Tapley, S49 Darryl Knuckey, S50 Jordon Bolitho, VX50 Luke Weel, S53 Nicole Southby, S54 Alan Saint, S56 Tate Cowie, S58 Nate Trewin, NT59 John Murdie, S66 Sam Martin, V67 Christopher Halesworth, VX70 Jake Byron, S74 Ryley Hammerstein, S75 Robert Heard, V76 Kelvin Johnson, V77 Alex Ross, S81 Kahn Aston, S82 Caleb Evans, S84 Jesse Alexander, S86 Kirby Hillyer, S95 Andy Thomas, V95 Lachie Cook, V97 Blake Walsh, S99 Michael Busby.

    Round 2 of the Ti Bills Race Parts Wingless Race Series will be proudly supported by:

    Cleanaway – Round 2 Major Sponsor
    Ti Bills Race Parts – Series Major Sponsor
    Pronto United Finance – Series Sponsor
    Obst Customs and Classics – Series Sponsor
    Chris’s Auto Air & Mechanical – Series Sponsor
    Broome Family and BP Gambier West, Mount Gambier – Contingency Supporter
    Alexander Bro’s Construction & Civil – Contingency Supporter
    Revolution Racegear – Contingency Supporter
    SA Wingless Sprints – Contingency Supporter
    Phil Michell Motorsport Media – Contingency Supporter

    Ends Release…
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway