• For the first time in several seasons, SA Wingless Sprints has announced their intention to contest a State Series, with early indications suggesting it will be conducted over four rounds at four different venues across South Australia. The series is beginning to create great interest, with current Wingless Sprint racer William Caruso already committing to being the overall series naming rights sponsor through his business Ti Bills Race Parts, in addition to a number of round sponsors also coming on board.

    These round sponsors include Cleanaway for round 2 in Mount Gambier, with the Waikerie event being is supported by First National Real Estate in Gawler while the Renmark Paringa Council will get behind the Grand Final. The Whyalla round sponsor is still yet to be announced.

    With the Wingless Sprint competitor numbers in South Australia at unprecedented levels this season, the on-track action that is expected will provide great entertainment for the paying public along with great exposure for the Club and the sponsors who have committed to being involved.

    The proposed series dates will see the series kick off on November 12 at the Whyalla Speedway, the same venue that will host the South Australian Championship in March 2023. The series will then move to the Borderline Speedway at Mount Gambier on December 10. After a break, the series will then focus on the Riverland with Round 3 at the Sunline Speedway at Waikerie on February 11, with the final round on Easter Saturday (April 8) at the Riverland Speedway in Renmark.

    The series also has contingency prizes for each of the rounds. This includes a random draw at the drivers briefing, with 1 driver per round set to receive $100 BP fuel voucher thanks to the Broome family and BP Gambier West. Those finishing 6th onwards will go into the draw to win one of two Supercheap Auto $50 voucher thanks to Alexander Bro’s Construction. For the driver finishing in 10th place in the A Main they will receive a complimentary press release thanks to Phil Michell Motorsport Media.

    Pronto United Finance and Obst Customs and Classics have both also generously committed to boosting the end-of-series prize pool, which will be presented at the annual presentation function at season’s end.

    There is a $50 nomination fee per round, with the format of each round of the SA Wingless Sprints State Series beginning with Hot Laps / Time Trials, which is an element that is rarely utilised for Wingless Sprints. Each driver will receive 4 timed laps for time trials with the field split into heat race groups with a maximum of 6 cars on track at once. The overall Quick Time from all the combined groups will also receive a $100 Ti Bills Race Parts voucher.

    For the opening round the drivers will be randomly assigned into heat groups, but for Rounds 2 to 4, the heat groups are seeded based on series points for those drivers who are present on the night.

    Time trial points will be allocated with the fastest driver in each heat group receiving 22 points, with the remaining drivers collecting the standard heat point’s breakdown as mentioned below.

    Each driver will then contest two heat races, with each race being 10 laps in duration with a maximum of 12 cars per heat.

    The opening round of heats will be fastest to the front based on the results from qualifying with round two seeing the fastest drivers sent to the back (inverted), complete with a row swap.

    Heat race points will be 22, 19, 17, 15, 13, 11, 9, 7, 5, 4, 3 and 2, with drivers who fail to finish being awarded drop-out points.

    Depending on the car count, three Main events are scheduled for each round with a C Main (if required), with a distance of 12-laps, with the top 2 drivers to transfer to back of the B Main. The last chance B-Main will be over 15-laps with 4 competitors to transfer into the 30-lap A Main, which will be contested by a maximum of 20 cars.

    Finally at the completion of the A Main the top five place getters will receive prize money as follows –

    1st Place = $500

    2nd Place = $400

    3rd Place = $300

    4th Place = $200

    5th Place = $100

    More series info can be found at: https://www.tibillsraceparts.com/winglesssaseries along with the series standings and race night information also able to be found on the SA Wingless Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/SAWinglessSprintsAWSSA
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway