• This weekend will see the Formula 500;s of WA fighting t out for honours in the biggest event of the season, the 63rd annual WA Formula 500 Championship.
    To be held at Geraldton Speedway across two nights (Saturday and Sunday) this upcoming long weekend, a good field of eighteen drivers have nominated in a field that has multiple former champions and place getters.
    Heading the field would be the defending Champion Steven Ellement who grabbed his third WA Crown last year at the Margaret River Speedway. Ellement has been in good form with three victories so far this season and comes into the event having podiumed five times in the last six years and eight times in the last eleven years, an incredible record on which to build on.
    Matt Brown is another threat who needs to be taken seriously this weekend as the four time champion has already claimed two feature wins this season. Brown also has another four podium finishes in the title event, and will be keen to reclaim the title that he last held in the 2017/18 season.
    Thomas Davies and Glenn Carstairs are the other two former champions in the field, having won the 2015/16 and 2016/17 Championships respectively. Whilst Davies hasn’t run too many shows recently, he has still grabbed a podium finish this season which gives him something to build on and having been on the podium in the Title event on three other occasions means he certainly knows what it takes to run well in a Title event. Carstairs has two wins and four other podiums this season, showing that he too is right on the pace and ready to match it with the best this weekend.
    Cody Turacchio and Mark House are both nominated for this weekends Title event, and both come in having claimed a second and a third in the Title race previously. Turacchio put in a strong performance at Bunbury recently while House is the last start winner after victory at the Perth Motorplex just a few days ago, so both are in the box seat to record their best Title finishes yet.
    Surprisingly, Chris Dymock has never even podiumed in a Title event, his luck always seeming to desert him. Coming into the show he has one win this season and a staggering six other podium finishes so the time is right for him to have his best ever finish come feature time on Sunday night.
    Ryan Higgs and George Eaton have both shown some great speed this year and are real threats of a strong finish in the Title event while a whole host of other names including Matthew Edwards-Pope, Brendon Marshman and Ted Street amongst others will be hoping to throw a cat amongst the pigeons in their quests for Title glory.
    It is a great field for this weekends Title event and the whole event should be great, particularly with Flynn Roser also making the journey up to Geraldton to represent the Junior Formula 500’s!
    Racing will begin on Saturday night with two rounds of heats and the Johnny Andersson preliminary feature race, whilst the second night will see another round of heats prior to the thirty lap A Main event to decide who will be the WA Champion for season 2019/20!
    Be There!

    Release by DTN Media.
    Pics courtesy Peter Roebuck.

    Official Nominations – 18
    WA1 Steven Ellement
    3 Chris Dymock
    4 Matt Brown
    5 Cody Turacchio
    7 Ryan Higgs
    14 Mathew Edwards-Pope
    17 Todd Broadwood
    24 Mark House
    29 Thomas Davies
    31 Ted Street
    36 Brendon Marshman
    45 Sam Haythornthwaite
    49 Glenn Carstairs
    71 David Carstairs
    76 Tyler Carter
    81 Jacob Priest
    101 Damien Della
    117 George Eaton

    Junior Formula 500’s - 1
    27 Flynn Roser
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway