• In a massive coup for the 2020 Dutton Garages, Dream Multi-Media Australian Speedcar Championship, current and nine-time New Zealand Midget Champion, Michael Pickens, has officially entered for February 28 and 29 at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool.

    Having recently claimed an amazing 9th New Zealand Midget Championship, Pickens is determined to hold both Titles at once, shipping his own Race Winning Equipment and Team from New Zealand for the event!

    The CRC Industries NZ1, will be a major draw card for the Australian Championship as Team Pickens along with their partners GVI – Genuine Vehicle Imports, King Chassis’ by Justin Insley Fabrication, Hoseshop.co.nz and GT International Logistics looks to add a second Australian Championship to go with the one Pickens collected back in 2016 at Valvoline Raceway.

    The hugely talented Kiwi has also stood upon the podium with a 2nd place run at Perth in 2005 and a 3rd placed finish at Lismore in 2011.

    With a previous best Chili Bowl finish of 3rd in 2011, Pickens again made the show in 2020, finishing 20th, before returning to New Zealand to claim the aforementioned 9th National Crown just last weekend.

    The resume of Michael Pickens is the stuff of legend! A two-time Australian Speedcar Super Series Champion, Multiple wins in the United States amidst USAC, POWRi and Badger Series events, being the youngest ever New Zealand Title winner, holding the record for the most consecutive A-Main win in New Zealand (17) as well as holding the record for the Most A-Main wins in a season with 28….. the list goes on and on!

    Premier Speedway General Manager David Mills was excited to hear of Pickens interest in contesting the Australian Championship.

    “To come off the back of the Classic and to then have Michael Pickens announce his intentions to contest the Australian Championship is just amazing”, Mills said.

    “Michael Pickens is a World Class talent and if we had wish list of drivers to contest the 2020 Dutton Garages, Dream Multi-Media Australian Championship, then he would be one of the first named. I think his entry raises the bar for this event and I look forward to seeing what he can do around Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool in a couple of week’s time”, Mills added.

    Also set to be amongst a hard charging pack of Speedcar Drivers looking to quell Pickens impact, will be Western Australian, Tom Payet.

    Payet is a product of Wingless Sprint Racing, having been a five-time Western Australian Wingless Sprint Champion and has also found his niche in a Sprintcar of recent times as well.

    Payet will wheel out the Rod Bennett owned W7 Spike – Toyota package with thanks to United Forklifts, Valvoline, GKR Trasnport and A1 Steep Powdercoaters for his trip from the West!

    Hailing from Hinchinbrook, NSW Jeffrey Burns is the first of what is expected to be a formidable list of New South Wales based entrants.

    Burns will campaign the Hoxton Park Auto Parts, Felsch Racing Engines and Bad Ass Graphics Spike Chassis, Gaerte Engines N34 entry.

    The 2020 Australian Speedcar Championship is proudly presented by Dutton Garage and Dream Multi and will be held from Friday February 28, 2020 to Saturday February 29, 2020.

    Tickets for the Australian Speedcar Championship are currently available via www.premierspeedway.com.au.

    On-line sales will cease at midnight on Thursday February 27, 2020 with nightly ticket sales available from gate opening at 4pm on Race Days.

    End Release.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway