• The Speedway City season will go out with a thundering roar this Saturday night (April 23) as the Adelaide venue hosts the 2016 South Australian Late Model Championship. Despite the class being established in South Australia for several years now this will be the first time that Speedway City has conducted the title event and the decision to run the title at the 430 metre venue has been well received with 18 drivers from four states set to compete this weekend.

    Leading the strong local charge will be the likes of category veteran Matt Crimmins, “The Barossa Bandit” Steve Vaughan, last start feature winner Luke Raymond, Cary and Mark McCarthy and Mount Gambier’s Stuey Hill.

    But the South Australian’s will find it tough to defend their home clay as the interstate contingent includes some of the best sedan pilots in the country. Ben Nicastri, who is the current New South Wales state champ, will be hard to beat as will Tasmanian star Brad Smith, Victorians Brendon Hucker and Michael Hetherington and Scott McPherson from NSW.

    An interesting nomination is that of New Zealand lady racer Kristen Vermeulen, who will make her Speedway City debut after spending the summer racing in Victoria. Vermeulen is actually one of three female drivers nominated as she will be joined by Cindy McCarthy and Warrnambool’s Fiona Verhoeven.

    The format for the South Australian Championship will include time trials during hotlaps, two rounds of 12 lap heat races, with fastest drivers being seeded to the front in the opening round, a top six dash and a 30 lap Championship finale.

    The final meeting on the 2015/16 calendar will also include a massive support program with over 60 competitors set to compete in the remaining 5 categories.

    The Wingless Sprints have once again attracted a quality line up with 19 drivers set to take on the Speedway City clay for the final time this season. After winning the past two feature events Jake Ashworth will seeking a hat trick to end the season but it will be a tough assignment as Robert Heard, fresh from a win at Murray Bridge, Matthew Kennedy, Michael Spoljaric, Dan Evans, Joel Heinrich, Brett Ireland, Spencer Taylor and William Caruso will all be out to finish the year on a high.

    Several Victorian drivers will also take the opportunity to race at Speedway City this weekend with Travis Beasley, Jason Bolitho and Adam Smith all making the trip across the border.

    The penultimate round of the JD Couriers Super Series will also be held with a field of seven cars entered. After finishing second in the South Australian Title last weekend Ryan Alexander will once again be the driver to beat but Michael Miller was victorious the last time the series was at Speedway City a fortnight ago. Trevor Ware will once again drive the Bill Miller owned #77 while the remaining nominations include Robbie Marchant, Paul Blenkiron, Graham Stewart and Riverland racer Kym Hammerstein.

    The AMCA Nationals are set to finish the season strong with the best car count seen for several months as they contest the final round of the Michael Lowe Track Championship while Street Stocks and Junior Sedans will complete the schedule for the Grand Final meeting.

    LATE MODEL NOMINATIONS: (18 cars): S4 Stuey Hill, S5 Luke Raymond, 5M Mark McCarthy, T6 Brad Smith, N7 Scott McPherson, V8 Fiona Verhoeven, V9 Kristen Vermeulen (NZ), S10 Matt Crimmins, S21 Darryle Launer, V23 Brendon Hucker, 24M Cary McCarthy, V40 Michael Heatherington, S48 Cindy McCarthy, S67 Steve Vaughan, N89 Liam Heaton, N91 Dean Hickey, N99 Ben Nicastri, S110 Tony Howlett.

    Meeting Times:
    Pit Gates Open: 1:00pm (General Admission available from Sign-In Box near the Pits)
    Driver's Meeting: 4:00pm
    Wheel Packing: 4:45pm
    Racing Starts: 5:30pm

    General Admission Prices:
    Adults: $20
    Concession: $15
    12-15 years: $10
    11 & Under: FREE
    Programme: $5
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, April 20, 2024

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway Lara
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Sunday, April 21, 2024

  • Simpson Speedway
  • Saturday, April 27, 2024

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Monday, April 29, 2024

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, May 4, 2024

  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Sunday, May 5, 2024

  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, May 11, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway