• Following the successful Sprintcar Smackdown event on Boxing Day the gates at Speedway City will open for the first time in 2016 this Saturday night with Round 6 of the Revolution Racegear Sprintcar Track Championship and the JD Couriers Super Series for Super Sedans headlining the program.

    The latest round of the Revolution Racegear Track Championship will see a field of 15 410ci Sprintcars, which will feature the likes of late nomination Matt Egel, who will be searching for his debut win aboard the Downing Brothers #97, Steve and Mark Caruso, Hayden and Terry Pitt, Jamie Cobby, Keke Falland, Luke Bowey, Sam Putland and Ricky Maiolo.

    Of the drivers mentioned you can expect Keke Falland and Ricky Maiolo to be race ready having just completed six nights of racing in 8 days during the Christmas / New Year period across five tracks in South Australia and Victoria. Matt Egel is in a similar situation having contested five of the events during that time having missed the event at Avalon.

    A pleasing aspect of the small field is the number of new drivers to the field including Sam Putland, Dan Evans and Jed Bell, all of whom have stepped up from the 360ci ranks into the open cars this season.

    Round 9 of the JD Super Series for Super Sedans has attracted the biggest field of the series so far with 10 entries for the Multi Form Building Pty Ltd / MA Motorsports supported round. In addition to regulars Ryan Alexander, who is coming off a win at Avalon last weekend, Dave Gartner, Michael Miller and Graham Stewart, a number of drivers will make their season debuts including Kym Hammerstein, Kaleb Perrett, veteran Robbie Marchant and rookie Kym Jury.

    After an engine failure late last year Paul Blenkiron is also returning to action as is Whyalla racer Michael Brown, who will make only his second start in the series.

    The mighty Speedcars will make their third start of the season at Speedway City with a field of 9 cars entered including previous event winners Ben Hall and Todd Wigzell while the Street Stocks and Junior Sedans will also provide great support with competitive fields expected.

    The biggest field of the night will be provided by the Wingless Sprints with 19 drivers set to compete as they prepare for the South Australian Championship that will be staged on Saturday January 30. Joel Chadwick will be searching for his third feature win at the Virginia venue this season but the competition will step up slightly this weekend with the addition of Murray Bridge racer Jarman Dalitz, who will be making his first start for the year.

    So make sure you are trackside this Saturday night at South Australia’s Home of Speedway for an action packed night of Speedway competition!!!

    Event Details:
    Pit Gates Open: 1:00pm
    (Public Entry will be open at Sign-In Box)
    Driver's Meeting: 4:00pm
    Wheel Packing: 4:45pm
    Racing Starts: 5:30pm

    General Admission Prices:
    Adults: $20
    Concession: $15
    12-15 years: $10
    11 & Under: FREE
    Programme: $5
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, April 20, 2024

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway Lara
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Sunday, April 21, 2024

  • Simpson Speedway
  • Saturday, April 27, 2024

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Monday, April 29, 2024

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, May 4, 2024

  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Sunday, May 5, 2024

  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, May 11, 2024

  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway