• Despite the fact that more than 50 drivers have taken part in the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship across 12 rounds so far this season, only five drivers have found their way to victory lane. It is remarkable that so few drivers have been able to deliver a feature-race winning performance and time is running out for those hoping to join this elite group with only four more rounds remaining, the first of which is this Saturday night (March 23). With 29 drivers converging on Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway for round 13, and 25 of these still desperate to finagle their first win of the year, expect a new level of intensity when the cars hit the track. Although Dirt Modifieds have been removed from the program due to a lack of nominations, there will still be plenty of supporting action courtesy of Compact Speedcars, Modlites, Formula 500 Juniors and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans.

    Of the 12 rounds completed, Luke Oldfield tops the winners list with four successes, with fellow Gold Coaster Lachlan McHugh having won on three occasions. In addition to his stunning Australian Championship victory, Andrew Scheuerle has two ECL feature wins to his name and leads the championship by virtue of the fact that, unlike Oldfield and McHugh, he has contested every round. World of Outlaws champion Donny Schatz also has two wins, while Toowoombas Peter Lack is the only other driver to have tasted the spoils of victory in championship competition this season. Of course, Scheuerle, Oldfield, McHugh and Lack will be in action again this weekend, determined to repel all efforts from those desperately seeking their moment in the spotlight.

    Whilst have been other drivers who have made it onto the podium, such as the likes of Allan Woods, Kevin Titman and Brent Kratzmann, none have yet earned the right to park in victory lane. Of course, that might change this weekend and you can be sure that this trio will be hell bent on making that happen, along with every other competitor who takes to the clay. Ben Hilder, Andrew Corbet and Randy Morgan have impressed in recent weeks and, having made a solid season debut at the previous round in finishing sixth behind McHugh, Oldfield, Titman, Lack and Hilder, former track champion Bryan Mann should prove an even bigger threat with laps under his belt.

    This season has seen the arrival of several new drivers into the series, including Geoff Davey and Trent Vardy who will be competing on Saturday night when another rookie makes his Sprintcar debut. Following in the footsteps of his father and grandfather, former Lightning Sprint standout Aaron Kelly will hit the track for his first taste of Sprintcar competition.

    Modlites have secured a strong 20+ field for their events, including the two biggest guns oif all in Australian champ Klinton Hancey and former titleholder Terry Leerentveld. This pair have completely dominated the category for several seasons and nobody else, either in Queensland or interstate, has yet proven themselves capable of consistently challenging their dominance. Hancey is also the current holder of every state championship, while Leerentveld is the winningest driver in the history of the division. Beat both of these boys and victory is all but assured and the most likely to spring an upset would seem to be Chris Were, Nathan Politch, Neil Gregson, Kyle Honour or former state champ Will Butler.

    Having really struggled for numbers this season, Compact Speedcars have gathered one of their biggest fields and, if all nominated competitors make it to the track, they will have 15 cars fighting it out. Despite the fact that he rarely races these days, Steve Swingler will still carry the mantle of favourite into the weekend following his feature race win earlier in the season, with Rob Stewart, Trent Usher, Nick Gannon and Matt ONeill looming as his biggest threats.

    Formula 500 Juniors and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans complete the program, with gates opening at 4.00pm and early racing from 5.00pm. Sprintcar time trials are scheduled for 5.30pm and the main program will kick off at 6.00pm.

    East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round 13 nominations: Aaron Kelly, Allan Woods, Andrew Corbet, Andrew Scheuerle, Anthony Lambert, Ben Hilder, Brandon Haynes, Brent Kratzmann, Bryan Mann, Cody Maroske, Des Collier, Geoff Davey, James Grady, Kevin Britten, Kevin Titman, Kristy Bonsey, Lachlan McHugh, Libby Ellis, Luke Oldfield, Mitch Gowland, Nathan McFarlane, Nelson Reddacliff, Paul Rooks, Peter Campbell, Peter Lack, Randy Morgan, Ryan McNamara, Sean Rose, Trent Vardy

    Modlite nominations: Abi Meehan, Alex Coward, Brayden Preston, Cameron Lamb, Chris Were, Dan Lewis, Jac Carnall, Joel Smith, Joshua Smith, Julian Olley, Klinton Hancey, Kyle Honour, Nathan Politch, Neil Gregson, Nikolas Keeley, Sean Middleton, Sean Rose, Steve Collins, Terry Leerentveld, Tray Carnall, Will Butler, Zac McDonald

    Compact Speedcar Nominations: Andrew Parkes, Connor McCullough, Dave Collins, Dave Swan, Jayden Iacono, Mark Maczek, Matt ONeill, Mitchell Rooke, Nick Gannon, Nick Hodges, Richard Rooke, Rob Stewart, Sean Iacono, Steve Swingler, Trent Usher

    Formula 500 Junior nominations: Jy Corbet, Kyle Price, Max Black, Taylor Morgan, Taylor Prosser

    Ford vs Holden vs Sigma nominations: Michael Laver, Peter Bayliss, Robert Kynaston, Travis Maher, Tristan Price, Troy Price, Wade Baker

    Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway is proudly supported by:
    Ausdeck Patios and Roofing
    East Coast Logistics
    Polar Ice
    Queensland Speedway Spares

    For more information and event updates, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 28, 2022

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 4, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, June 25, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 9, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 30, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 12, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 13, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 19, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 20, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 26, 2022

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 27, 2022

  • Northline Speedway