• Dual South Australian Championships, the MJS Street Stock Series and the V8 Super Sedans headline the final meeting of the Whyalla Speedway season this Saturday night (April 24).

    Due to a heavy storm that swept over the track at the last event that rained out both the South Australian Championships for Modified Sedans and V6 Sprints both events will be re-run this Saturday night.

    The 12 car Modified Sedan field is headlined by Mildura drivers Jake Drewett and Peter McCarthy. Last weekend Drewett defeated a field of 40 competitors to win the Victorian Championship at Ballarat and he will go into the South Australian Championship as a red-hot favourite. McCarthy will also be a major threat as he is the defending Champion after his victory at Renmark and he would love to go back-to-back. Aaron Graham and Darren Allen rounds out the Mildura based contingent.

    Of the locals former State Champion Terry Brown will be the biggest chance along with Ben Whitehead and veteran Marty Raams.

    The V6 Sprint Championship will see 9 drivers fight it out with the most likely winners being multiple Champ Nick Hall or Damien Eve. Both Hall and Eve have consistently run up front all season, but they will have to bring their best on Saturday night as Kym Simon, Michael Buxallen and Daryl Barkla can easily cause an upset.

    Both of the State Championships will see three rounds of heats prior to their feature events.

    Following their previous round at Murray Bridge last weekend the Street Stock competitors will contest back-to-back rounds of the MJS Street Series with a great field of drivers nominated from right across the State and Victoria. After finishing second last weekend Mount Gambier’s Jayden Edwards will be hoping to go one place better but he will have to contend with the likes of Nathan Thorne, who was third last week, veteran Nigel Reichstein, Heath Thorne and Nathan Brumfield.

    The local Whyalla residents will have several drivers to follow including Michael Brown, who will also compete in the Super Sedans, Adrian Jones, Wayne Fosteris and Jarrod Hamilton.

    The MJS Series is always entertaining with their unique feature format with 15 laps being run in either racing direction.

    The Super Sedan will make a welcomed return to the venue after an extended break with the one of the biggest fields of the South Australian season nominated. A total of 9 cars will be in attendance to race for the Brian Skelton Memorial.

    Local racer Michael Brown would love to win this event but Kym Jury, who was victorious last start at Murray Bridge and Paul Blekiron will start as the drivers to beat. Mick Brougham, who won his last appearance at the Sunline Speedway will also be a driver to watch along with Neville Nitschke and veteran Andrew Leach.

    A small field of Junior Sedans will complete the racing program.

    Nominations for Saturday Night:

    2021 SA V6 Sprint State Title - 9
    5 Damien Eve
    6 Michael Buxallen
    8 Nick Hall
    9 Renee Pfeiler
    17 Kym Simon
    58 Tyson McCarthy
    67 Daniel Thwaites
    98 Toby McCarthy
    99 Daryl Barkla

    2021 SA Modified Sedan Title - 12
    0 Trevor Raams
    MDA6 Peter McCarthy
    8 Marty Raams
    9 Terry Brown
    16 David Haseldine
    MDA18 Jake Drewett
    31 Darren Allen
    MDA44 Aaron Graham
    65 Mark Janssan
    89 Justin Demaine
    93 Ben Whitehead
    95 Robert Uren

    Brian Skelton Super Sedan Memorial - 9
    22 Paul Blenkiron
    42 Shane Lambe
    44 Andrew Leach
    52 Michael Brown
    55 Mick Brougham
    58 Neville Nitschke
    66 Sarah Pope
    93 Kym Jury
    99 TBA

    MJS Street Stock Series - 16
    8 Paul Hayes
    14 Nigel Reichstein
    16 Jake Hamilton
    22 Tony Prideaux
    33 Bryan Brown
    36 Adrian Jones
    44 Heath Thorne
    52 Sam Brumfield
    53 Nathan Thorne
    87 Jayden Edwards
    96 Wayne Fosteris
    MDA97 Wade Fell
    116 Jarrod Hamilton
    123 Denis Knowles
    152 Michael Brown
    198 Bradley Sheridan

    Junior Sedans - 5
    5 Riley Greig
    9 Lachlan Brown
    12 Max Richter
    16 Corey Richter
    24 Chelsea Gwynne

    Gates open at 4pm, with racing beginning at 6pm.
    Family Ticket - $58
    Adults - $25
    Kids 12-15 years - $15
    Kids under 12 FREE

    Tickets for the race meeting at Whyalla are now available on Ticketebo at www.ticketebo.com.au/whyallaspeedway

    Release by Phil Michell Motorsport Media
    For the Whyalla Speedway.

    Ends Release…
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 8, 2021

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, May 15, 2021

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Saturday, May 22, 2021

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Friday, May 28, 2021

  • Cairns Speedway
  • Saturday, May 29, 2021

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Cairns Speedway
  • Saturday, June 5, 2021

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, June 13, 2021

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Saturday, August 7, 2021

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, August 20, 2021

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 4, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 18, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 25, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 2, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Friday, October 29, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 30, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 13, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, November 20, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, December 26, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Monday, December 27, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Wednesday, January 26, 2022

  • Murray Bridge Speedway