• It is nearly impossible to stop him, Anthony Beare from Mount Gambier has won his seventh Victorian Street Stock title, this time at Alexandra Speedway when he defeated a class field on the fast flowing and popular Speedway. Beare was amongst a host of popular winners on the weekend with Josh Service, Kacey Ingram, James Oliver, and Dylan Barrow also securing victory in their classes.

    The Victorian Street Stock title had attracted cars from New South Wales, South Australia, and all over Victoria to compete with a healthy number of locals also lining up. Eight qualifiers and a preliminary final for each driver on Friday night started the action before the final two qualifiers and the feature race action on Saturday.

    There was almost no better way to start the weekends racing than when on Friday night Alexandra Club Chief Steward Dale Morrison on a night off from official duties was a popular winner in the first heat race leading to the finish three other Alexandra member drivers to make up the first four.

    Steven Watts from Warnambool, Ricky Cornwall from Kilsyth, and Beare won first round qualifiers also. Adrian Lawrence from Traralgon, Beare and Cornwall both making it two from two and Jacob Mills from Victoria’s North East were winners in round two.

    Friday night closed with wins to Anthony Beare from Morris Ahearn of Bendigo and Jason Duell in one preliminary final whilst in the other Mills defeated Geelong based racer Jason Degoldi and Shane Roycroft from Kialla in the other.

    A night of socialising and a morning of repairs was followed by the final nights racing with Morrison once again kicking off the action with a win. Beare making it three wins from three starts to this point, Matt Nelson from Woori Yallock and Lawrence took race wins in round three, before David Barrie, Beare making a clean sweep of four wins from four starts, Roycroft and Degoldi won in the final qualifiers.

    After a last chance qualifier elevated the first four finishers the feature race with a marathon 35 lap distance on the 570-metre-long track was to be a gruelling test. Early in the feature race top qualifier Beare led, Ahearn, Cornwall, Degoldi and Roycroft. Lawrence brought himself into the battle with Roycroft then Cornwall being dislodged from the front pack a third of the race in. Watts slotted into the top five and by lap fifteen Degoldi was second behind Beare.

    Watts was dislodged from the lead pack and New South Wales visitor Chris Marino slotted into the podium position. When the chequered flag unfurled to end the title race Beare had a 6 second victory margin from Degoldi, Ahearn, Marino, and Lawrence the top Alexandra member to finish.

    Along the way across the weekend Beare set new one lap, ten lap and fifteen lap records for the class and continued his reign as the ‘G.O.A.T’ of Street Stock racing with a seventh Victorian title to go along with his four national titles and nine South Australian titles and multiple other titles around Australia.

    Junior Sedan action seen Wandin racer and Alexandra member Dylan Barrow pick up a Top Star class feature win in an all-Alexandra member podium in front of Jayden Bryant, Breanna Simpson, Jack Randall, and Seth Sloane. Barrows was never headed in the feature race winning by just .331 of a second at the finish line as Bryant tried in vain to pinch the win.

    James Oliver was too classy in the New Star class of Juniors as he won by over four seconds from Maddy Capon, the returning Rye Orme, his sister Christine Oliver, and the visiting Miller Throckmorton. James led all the way from the drop of the green flag to pick up back-to-back wins at the venue.

    In Sports Sedan action the crowd-pleasing popular club class seen popular club man Josh Service winning in a class line up from Brendan Miller, Steve Kershaw, Dale Smith, and Steven Akil in another all-Alexandra podium result. Consistent laps from Service as the front of the field kept a distance between, he and who had to work his way through several positional battles before trying to catch Service.

    Finally, young gun Kacey Ingram from Warragul won the Standard Saloon final defeating Jeff Oldfield, Wayne Sheerman, Victor Benson, and Jaimi Barber from Benalla. Ingram visiting Alexandra for the first time as an adult racer took the lead from Sheerman on lap nine of fifteen and took a feature race win.

    1 Lap – Anthony Beare – South Australia – 21:269 – April 2021
    10 Laps – Anthony Beare – South Australia – 3:39.024 – April 2021
    15 Laps – Anthony Beare – South Australia – 5:28.970 – April 2021

    Alexandra Speedway is back again on May the 8th with Dog Leg circuit racing including the popular Crash and Bash Class, a Ladies Open Sedan feature and club classes.

    Alexandra & District Speedway Club thanks their wonderful supporters
    Alexandra & Yea Pre-Mix
    Barca Trailers
    Beach Earthmoving
    Bendigo Bank Ringwood East
    Campton Graphics
    Donnaz Undergrounds
    Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
    Endeavour Alexandra
    Fallon’s Bus Service
    Foodwork’s Alexandra
    Healesville Directional Drilling
    Highline Racewear
    LS Quarry
    Outer Eastern Steel
    Raslaar Engineering
    Revegetation Victoria
    S & N Builders
    Smooth Suspension
    Town & Country Tennis Courts
    Tyrepower Alexandra
    Wandin Heavy Haulage
    Waverley Exhaust
    Yenckens Timber & Hardware
    Yea BP

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Alexandra and District Speedway Club

    Anthony Beare the Victorian Street Stock Champion (C) Rock Solid Productions

    Albert Fell's rear end got a little warm here (C) Rock Solid Productions

    Jason Degoldi finished second in the title (C) Rock Solid Productions

    L to R podium Marino, Ahearn, Beare, Degoldi, Lawrence (C) Rock Solid Productions

    Standard Saloon feature winner Kacey Ingram(C) Rock Solid Productions

    Sports Sedan winner Josh Service (C) Rock Solid Productions

    Dylan Barrow won SSA Junior All Stars (C) Rock Solid Productions

    James Oliver won SSA Junior New Stars (C) Rock Solid Productions

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, April 17, 2021

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Sunday, April 18, 2021

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, April 24, 2021

  • Narrogin Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Hi Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway
  • Nyora Speedbowl
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Alexandra
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, April 25, 2021

  • Alexandra
  • Saturday, May 1, 2021

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Roma International Speedway
  • Sunday, May 2, 2021

  • Simpson Speedway
  • Saturday, May 8, 2021

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, May 15, 2021

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Saturday, May 22, 2021

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Friday, May 28, 2021

  • Cairns Speedway
  • Saturday, May 29, 2021

  • Cairns Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, June 13, 2021

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Saturday, August 7, 2021

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, September 4, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 18, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 25, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 2, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Friday, October 29, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 30, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 20, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway