Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • After more than a year away from racing due to the effect the Covid Pandemic has had on the community, Wangaratta City Raceway fires up again this Saturday night with around seventy race drivers set to tear up the newly surfaced track. The Grand Prix Midgets are on hand for their Victorian State title, the Unlimited Sedan’s are visiting for their first time and the Compact Speedcars compete all with support from Wangaratta and the North East’s local heroes.

    The hard working volunteers at the club have been preparing for this night for months and many hours of labour have gone in to upgrade the video tower, and Officials and Commentary area, Track entry and exit gates and a complete new track surface.

    “Our volunteers have pulled together and people around the community have contributed support through the hours of labour they have been able to offer. Part curly pleasing was our sport’s national governing body supported us with grants and for that we thank them and Liz Weaver who has kept in regular contact with us.” Shared President John Patton.

    The Victorian Grand Prix Midget state title is the big showcase event of the night with New South Wales and Victorian competitors set to do battle. In recent seasons Janelle Saville has been at the pointy end of the field in major events and she will be very hard to stop this weekend. Former champion driver of the class Ash Booker returns, and the likes of Chris Fowler, Travis Florrimell, Paul Perry, Alex Myers and Louis Rodriguez are likely to figure in the results.

    Compact Speedcar action includes Louis Rodriguez again as he competes in both the open wheel classes, whilst Mark Cecil, Justin Paull and Michael Conway will be front runners and local Wangaratta racer Scott Thomson returns after some time away from the scene.

    Sports Sedan racing continues to be Wangaratta’s strongest club class and Rhys Collins, Tristan McGraw, Robert Garlick, Matthew Brooks and Andrew Jordan are all very fast cars in the line-up, former Wangaratta based Australian Production Sedan champion Chris Lack makes his return to racing putting together some laps in the Sports Sedans.

    Wangaratta gets its first look at the popular Unlimited Sedans with Warrick Taylor the Victorian champion heading the nominations. He will have his hands full with Lennie Bonnici, Trent Susol, Peter Cox and Ian Page, whilst drivers from the north east such as Wayne Eames and Corey McDonald cannot wait to do battle at Wangaratta.

    Standard Saloon racing has a small yet strong field with Wayne Sheerman in his very quick car from Melbourne up against locals Shane Roycroft, Brendon Eames, Jaimi Barber and Micheal Fleming –Robertson keen to pick off the big win in this tough line-up.

    Finally the Junior Sedan field is also another field that will produce outstanding racing for fans. Dylan Barrow, Bradin Claridge and Marty Bassett in particular have strong finishing results across last season and this year behind them, watch to see who wins the battle on Saturday night.

    Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged 6 through to 16, children under 6 free.

    The gates to the public open from Midday and racing begins from 5pm. Public enquiries can be made to 0402 820 489

    On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

    Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including;
    Benalla Roadside Assist
    Burson Auto Parts
    Country Concrete
    Edge FM
    Jabek Transport
    Keam Fertiliser
    Kore Concreting
    North East Fasteners
    Robinson Truck Repairs
    Rouse Transport
    SnapOn Albury
    Solimo Towing
    Ussher Plumbing and Concreting
    Wangaratta Spring Works

    Janelle Saville – NSW 2
    Chris Carr – Victoria 3
    Jack Ward – Victoria 4
    Gary Bowyer – NSW 5
    Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
    Alex Myers – Victoria 11
    Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
    Matt Kamolins – Victoria 22
    Paul Perry – Victoria 33
    David Bacon – NSW 36
    Shawn Ward – Victoria 44
    Louis Rodriguez – Victoria 47
    Ashley Booker – Victoria 50
    Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
    Terry Brown – Victoria 88

    Daniel James – Victoria 3
    Mark Hutchinson – Victoria 6
    Mark Cecil – Victoria 7
    Louis Rodriguez – Victoria 11
    Justin Paull – Victoria 12
    Tania Hallett – Victoria 15
    Scott Thomson – Victoria 17
    AJ Wiles – Victoria 32
    Gavin Cooper – Victoria 34
    Aaron Stubbs – Victoria 46
    Aaron Bacon – Victoria 56
    Michael Conway – Victoria 77

    Chris Lack – Wangaratta 4
    Will Heiner - Mount Beauty 6
    Joel Copeland - Corowa 23
    Rhys Collins - Mount Beauty 27
    Belinda Chalcraft – Goulburn Valley 34
    Tristan McGraw - Corowa 38
    Marcus Griffiths - Mount Beauty 38
    Jaiden McCann - Nagambie 39
    Robbie Edwards - Nyora 55
    Robert Garlick - Alexandra 63
    Matthew Brooks - Wangaratta 65
    James Guppy – Wangaratta 66
    Tom Barnard - Wangaratta 69
    Lachlan Cummins - Mount Beauty 69
    Josh Beattie - Goulburn Valley 72
    Jasmin Molloy - Ballarat 72
    Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
    Andrew Jordan - Alexandra 89

    Jaimi Barber - Corowa 8
    Adam Brezovnik - Corowa 13
    Brendon Eames - Corowa 16
    Keith Cattermole - Corowa 17
    Michael Fleming-Robertson - Corowa 18
    Michael Poole - Corowa 41
    Shane Roycroft – Wangaratta 65
    Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
    Bianca Ballantyne - Wangaratta 89

    Bradin Claridge – Goulburn Valley 7
    Connor Claridge – Swan Hill 7
    Dylan Barrow – Alexandra 17
    Riley Balins – Corowa 21
    Abbi Garlick – Alexandra 63
    Marty Bassett – Corowa 66
    Michael Sayers – Mount Beauty 69

    Warrick Taylor - Victoria 1
    Lennie Bonnici - Victoria 2
    Trent Susol - Redline 7
    Stan Brown - Drouin 23
    Corey McDonald - Mount Beauty 37
    Wayne Eames - Corowa 51
    Peter Cox - Nagambie 62
    Ian Page - Redline 72
    Darron Kolar - Rosedale 82
    Anthony McKean - Rosedale 83
    Daniel Unternahrer - Alexandra 86
    Travis Ramsdale - Nyora 99

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Wangaratta Speedway Club

    Grand Prix Midgets will race for their Victorian title (C) Rock Solid Productions

    Unlimited Sedans will race at Wangaratta for the first time (C) Napier Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Thursday, March 4, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, March 6, 2021

  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, March 7, 2021

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, March 13, 2021

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Thursday, March 18, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, March 20, 2021

  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Narrogin Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Thursday, March 25, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Friday, March 26, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, March 27, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Nyora Speedbowl
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Thursday, April 1, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Friday, April 2, 2021

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway