• After remaining undefeated throughout the three rounds of heats Bailey Heinrich continued his winning ways as he claimed round 2 of the MJS Street Stock Series at the Whyalla Speedway on Saturday night (January 11). After dominating the heat races the 30-lap feature was far from easy as he only regained the lead from Jayden Edwards on the final lap as he muscled his way past in turn three. Former Australian Champion Rhys Heinrich finished third just behind the leading duo.

    As with all MJS Series contests the final saw the opening 15 laps run in the anti-clockwise direction with Bailey Heinrich leading all the way until the caution came out to signify a change in direction. It was at this point of the race it began to get interesting with each of the top three holding the lead at some point with the eventual winner being shuffled back to third as late as lap 24. But a late charge saw Bailey drive past Rhys before making the decisive pass for the lead within sight of the flag.

    Fourth across the line was Nigel Reichstein with regular Super Sedan racer Jason Gantz completing the top five. Aaron Tyler put one of his better performances to finish sixth while Jason Gibbs, Ben Tuttle, Ben Whitehead, Hayden Jolly and a slowing Carey Weston rounded out the finishers.

    Along with Bailey Heinrich the heat winners included Rhys Heinrich (2) and Jayden Edwards.

    The Formula 500’s joined the Street Stocks as the featured class as they contested the 2020 Dual of the Desert. After falling back to sixth early in the race Corey Jones pinched the lead away from early race leader Nathan O’Shea with only four laps remaining. O’Shea would hold onto second ahead of Brendan Zadow, Ben Cartwright, Michael Wise and Dean Cottrell.

    Western Australian Ryan Higgs didn’t get past turn three on the opening lap after being involved in an incident with Brad Stell while Ben Cooper also failed to go the distance.

    Earlier Brad Stell, rookie Ben Cartwright and Michael Wise each claimed a heat win while Stell rolled his #33 in turn four in the final heat.

    The Modlites and the V6 Sprints were also on the program with good numbers in each class.

    Scott Webb was a dominant winner of the Modlite final ahead of Trevor Knuckey, David Hartman, Brian Chadwick and Anthony Grillett. Prior to the final the Modlites conducted three heats with David Hartman winning twice while Anthony Grillett bounced back well to win heat 3 after crashing out in the opening heat of the night.

    The biggest field of V6 Sprints of the South Australian season headed west with 13 cars in the pit area but there was no stopping the former South Australian Champion Chris James as he led from start to finish. Kym Simon was his nearest rival as he finished second with veteran Michael Buxallen finishing third. Jake Oxford, Chris Quinton, Darryl Barkla and rookie Archie Fabian completed the finishers.

    Earlier the six heats were shared between Chris James (2), Damian Eve, Jake Oxford, Michael Buxallen, and Kym Simon. Heat 3 saw the demise of Steve Agars as he clipped an infield tyre in turn two and inverted his immaculate #3.

    The night was completed by a couple of novelty events with Jordan Grillett winning the 4-cylinder Jumps Race while Brad Page won the Demolition Derby.

    The next event on the Whyalla Speedway calendar will be the $10,000 to win 2020 South Australian Sprintcar Championship on March 14, 2020.

    The Whyalla Speedway Club would like to thank the following corporate supporters for their assistance during the 2020 Speedway season:
    • A & R Copiers
    • A1 Welding
    • Airport Whyalla Motel
    • Avid Engineering Pty Ltd
    • Boral Quarries Whyalla
    • Bridges Financial Services
    • City of Whyalla
    • Coates Hire – Whyalla
    • Daniel Thwaites Motorsport
    • Des’s Cabs
    • Greg Sketcher Photography
    • MJS Tree & Stump Contractors
    • Normetals Pty Ltd
    • Phil Michell Motorsport Media
    • Rocksolid Building
    • Specialised Tyre & Rubber Repairers
    • Steve White General Builders
    • Whyalla Earthworks
    • Whyalla Scrap Metal

    Release By Phil Michell Motorsport Media for the Whyalla Speedway

    Ends Release…
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, June 20, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, July 11, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, August 1, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, August 22, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Friday, September 4, 2020

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, September 5, 2020

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 12, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, September 19, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 26, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunday, September 27, 2020

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 3, 2020

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunday, October 4, 2020

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, October 10, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, October 17, 2020

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, October 23, 2020

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 24, 2020

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, October 31, 2020

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, November 7, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Saturday, November 14, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, November 21, 2020

  • Moama Speedway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie