Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Rushworth Speedway’s season produced another night of sensational entertainment on Saturday night with Super Sedans and Grand Prix Midgets visiting, however it would be the local classes that proved to be every entertaining. Jay Nicolaisen in a new car, Neil Johnson, Kelly Lamb and Zachary Martin won the local sedan class events whilst Mick Nicola Jnr and Chris Fowler took victory in the Super Sedans and the Grand Prix Midgets.

    The Super Sedans competed in three qualifiers with Jamie Collins the first victor of the night by .453 of a second. Mick Nicola Snr then defeated his son Mick Nicola Jnr by .432 of a second to continue the close calls. Sensationally the two Nicola's finished first and second in the third, this time separated by just .108 of a second. In the final the tables were reversed when Junior took the lead on lap ten and ran out a victor ahead of Senior in the twelve-lap final by just over a second. Darren Giacometti was third and Collins finished fourth. Junior set the fastest lap time of the night for Super Sedans of 17.211.

    Jason Crawford back in last season’s car after some recent heavy damage to the team's number one race machine took a comfortable first qualifying race victory. Event favourite Chris Fowler then led every lap just as Crawford did before him to win the second qualifier. Fowler continued to win when he secured the first place in the final qualifier. Crawford and Fowler then dished out an early battle with each other at the front of the field with Crawford leading the first three of eight laps before Fowler took control of the race. Dennis Myers finished in third with Luke Stanley the only other finisher.

    Six heat races for the Open Saloons racing seen results in qualifying racing go the way of Scott Smith, Jay Nicolaisen, Peter Welch, Paul Lamb, Nicolaisen for a second time before Welch also won a second qualifier.

    Lamb and Jay Nicolaisen began at the front of the field with Welch and Garry Gapes the class champion behind them. A eight lap final event for the drivers did not go very far for Welch who exited the race on lap two, Nicolaisen in the race lead was able to control the race and set a fastest one lap time for the class on race night of 19.159 and come away with a great victory in his new car ahead of Lamb, Braiden Simmonds, Gapes and Brad Simmonds.

    Production Sedan action split qualifying victories between Ian Wilson who won the first and Neil Johnson who won the next two. A twelve-lap final finished with Johnson the winner ahead of Wilson, Mark Gordan, Steve Honeyman and Shane Hutchins rounding out the top five. Johnson set a fast time of the night in the final of 19.968.

    Three different drivers won Ladies Saloon qualifiers before the feature event with Kelly Lamb claiming victory in the first, Jas Bergman won the second by just .140 of a second and in a finish just as close, Belinda Chalcraft claimed a win in the third and final qualifier. Leading the feature event all the way, Kelly Lamb who started from the second spot won the ten-lap final ahead of Chalcraft, Bergman, Nicole Gapes and Pauline Martin.

    With limited class entries, the Junior Sedan competitors competed in three heat race events with the day’s winner determined by points. Zachary Martin took the victory with two wins out of the three. Martin won heat two and three with Jordan Simmonds taking second and Keiden Britton in third.

    Goulburn Valley Auto Club is proudly supported by
    Super Balance Automotive - Shepparton
    Aerodrome Automotive – Kialla
    Autobarn – Bendigo
    Bendigo Powder Coating
    Bendigo Timber Products
    Bourke Fencing - Bendigo
    Budget Trophies -Kyabram
    Burson’s Shepparton
    Jackal Fencing Manufacturers - Bendigo
    Kyabram Bearings
    Leed Engineering & Construction – Kangaroo Flat
    Maxam Printing - Shepparton
    Metalcorp Bendigo
    Mental Racewear
    Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
    Mooroopna Passenger Services
    Ross Adams Cartage Contractor - Nanneella
    Rushworth Bakery
    The Rushworth Hotel
    WG Panels - Rochester
    Windridge Security Doors & Fences – Bendigo

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Goulburn Valley Auto Club

    Mick Nicola Jnr won the Super Sedans (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Chris Fowlers won the Grand Prix Midgets (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Open Saloons was won by Jay Nicolaisen (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Neil Johnson won Production Sedans (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Kelly Lamb won Ladies Saloons (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Zachary Martin won the Junior Sedans (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Wednesday, January 22, 2020

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Thursday, January 23, 2020

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Friday, January 24, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Saturday, January 25, 2020

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Sunday, January 26, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Moora Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Valvoline Raceway