Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Three young English Solo riders – Dan Bewley, Kyle Bickley and Tom Brennan – will compete in the Jack Young Cup at the opening meeting of the Gillman Speedway summer season, which will also feature the Gillman Sidecar Championship, on Saturday night.

    Bewley, aged 20, was the 2018 British Under-19 Champion, and now rides for the famous Manchester-based Belle Vue Aces. Brennan, aged 18, rides for the Eastbourne Eagles and was very impressive during the 2019 British season before a broken leg ruled him out for later stages of the season, and Bickley is only 17 but had an outstanding junior career and this season rode for the Glasgow Tigers, and also for Belle Vue’s second team, the Colts.

    All three are likely to make the Cup Final with Bewley the favourite to win.

    Their major opposition from the local riders will come from Robert Medson who went close to winning the event last season. After an enthralling night’s racing, Medson was one of three riders tied for first place with 13 points, but narrowly lost the subsequent final to Brayden McGuinness, who misses the chance to defend the Cup as he will be riding in the Victorian Championship.

    The current Gillman Sidecar Champion, Tim Bichard, also misses the chance to defend his title (because of work commitments), but the other placegetters from last season - Brian Silvy/Cameron White, Nathan Fleet/Ayrton Canning and Aaron Silvy/Jaron Silvy – are all back and hoping to step up onto the top step of the podium.

    The favourites, however, will be Shane Rudloff/Damian Egan and Rick Stephens/Nick O'Brien. Rudloff is always a major contender at Gillman, while Stephens, from Broken Hill, was in career best form at the end of last season.

    Kym Menadue/Eric Melton were also in good form last season until a blown motor finished their season and Dean Hobbs, with former passenger Justin Richards, was a finalist in the 2018 championship, so most of the line-up have the ability to make the final which should ensure close and exciting racing during the heats.

    The under 16 junior solo riders will also be competing for glory in the 125cc Gillman Junior Solo Championship on the smaller infield track.

    Everything You Need To Know:

    Meeting Date: Saturday, 9 November 2019.
    Venue: Gillman Speedway Stadium, 65 Wilkins Road, Gillman – near the Port Adelaide area.

    Parking and entrance: Patrons can enter via gates at the western and eastern ends of the venue. There are free off-street parking areas near both gates.

    Gates open: at 5 pm.
    Racing starts: at 7.30 pm. Free spectator access to the pits until approximately 6.30pm.


    Solos 500cc Jack Young Cup : Dan Bewley (Eng), 18-Kyle Bickley (Eng), 27-Tom Brennan (Eng), 9-Robert Medson (SA), 12-Roy Stout (SA), 51-Fraser Bowes (SA), 18 Jake Mitchell (SA), 88-Blake Ridley (SA)

    Solos 500cc practices : 12-Darryl Christopher (SA), 47-Nicholas Possingham (SA), 211-Teagan Pedler (SA)

    Sidecars Gillman Championship : 12-Brian Silvy/Cameron White (SA), 14-Kym Menadue/Eric Melton (SA), 15-Shane Rudloff/Damian Egan (SA), 21-Aaron Silvy/Jaron Silvy (SA), 22-Stephen Fowler/Corey Palmer (SA), 31-Darryll Woods/Willy Walker (SA), 69-Rick Stephens/Nick O'Brien (NSW), 89-Nathan Fleet/Ayrton Canning (SA), 970-Dean Hobbs/Glen Zaworski (SA),

    Solos 125cc Juniors Gillman Championship : 26-Jordan Hargreaves (SA), 27-Travis Clarke (SA), 33-Jake Fleet (SA), 47-Nicholas Possingham (SA), 131-Ashley Jansen-Batchelor (SA), 295-Lucius Payne (SA), 524-Harry Sadler (SA). 48-Kobi Canning (SA) in 6pm Novice events.

    Pee Wees : 03-Blake Schlein (Vic), 13-Jackson McPherson (SA), 16-Riley Edson (SA), 37-William Nicol (SA), 297-Esther Payne (SA) and 50cc : 03-Blake Schlein (Vic), 5-Jack Silvy (SA), 10-Darcy Bennett (SA) on the infield junior track at 6pm.

    Championship formats: All championships decided over four heat rides for each rider, with the top three point scorers qualifying for the final, along with the winner of a last chance semi-final for the 4th to 7th highest scorers. The finishing order in the finals will determine the championship placegetters.

    Admission: Adults $25, Age Pension & Student Concession $20, Children aged 12-15 $5, Under 12 free, Family $55, Programme $5. Parking free. Grandstand free.

    Concession is limited to holders of the Centrelink Pensioner Concession Card and Student Concession card holders only. Eftpos is only available at the eastern gate. The western (main) gate is cash only.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 23, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Gillman Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Collie Speedway
  • Saturday, November 30, 2019

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, December 7, 2019

  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Margaret River Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, December 14, 2019

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Narrogin Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Thursday, December 19, 2019

  • Simpson Speedway