Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Pakenham and Ferntree Gully racers Dale Morrison and Lee Beach combined as aa team to win this years 3 Hour Endurance motorsport race at Alexandra Speedway with their combination of good ole’ XF Ford Falcon’s out lasting a long list of fancied teams in a frenetic finish to the event where leaders dropped out of the way and the strategy of Morrison and Beach played it’s part in seeing them, in the front spot at the right time with a lap up their sleeve.

    Morrison and Beach both come from a history of racing against each other and are also both members at Alexandra Speedway Club. They formed a combination just to go out and have some fun, however as the race went on they found themselves in the hunt and with fifteen minutes to go, they knew for sure they could secure a top five finish, fifteen minutes later though they were collecting $2500- for winning the whole show!

    Early in the race Lennie Bonnici, Matt Nelson, Darren Forrest, Frank Ramsdale, Damien Miller and Warrick Taylor set a blistering pace at the front of the field. Bonnici would get some distance ahead and Nelson would catch him in traffic.

    Several incidents causing caution and red-light stoppages affected strategies, drivers got caught out in the wrong place in the queue affecting their run and others just had to pit during long green light stretches which put them down in the running order laps behind.

    Robert Garlick becoming a welcome yet unlikely race leader and he kept going on and on and on before eventually handing over to teammate Matt Callanan. Their run unravelled as did the runs of others who pitted just when you thought they might go on to win.

    Darren Forrest was a certainty to win the race with four laps left however his machine let go on him and he had to dash back to the pit enclosure to put his team mate back in the race.

    After 180 minutes, Lee Beach brought he and his team mate Morrison to the finish line almost a full lap ahead of second placed Bonnici and Shane O’Brien next was father and son combination Jeff and Jake Blencowe with brothers Damien and Brendan Miller in fourth and Forrest and Ben Moon rounding out the top five.

    In celebration of the victory Morrison and Beach embraced a top of Beach’s race car, there was a kiss or two planted on the noggin of each other as the emotions poured out after a win that will be remembered for years to come.

    Both drivers paid tribute to each other after the event with a similar message shared “As a race driver you hope to do well, however you look at the quality entry list and lot has to go right for you to win. I figured we could finish top ten, then as the race went on, we figured top five, top three and then here we are, we are winners. I thank Dale for his efforts and his mate ship, everybody for supporting us and helping us and Alexandra Speedway Club and its volunteers for providing us the opportunity to do what we all love.” Shared Beach.

    Top Ten
    1 – Dale Morrison & Lee Beach
    2 – Lennie Bonnici & Shane O’Brien
    3 – Jeff & Jake Blencowe
    4 – Damien & Brendan Miller
    5 – Darren Forrest & Ben Moon
    6 – Gareth Wilson & Dave Barrie
    7 – Matt & Darren Nelson
    8 – Matt Sgroi & Steve Mitchell
    9 – Warrick Taylor & Peter Cox
    10 – Rob Bushell Snr & Jnr

    Supporting the Enduro racing was Junior Sedan racing and Lilydale racer Kasey Garlick won her final ever Junior Sedan final when she won the Top Star Juniors final in front of Chloe Sheerman and Jayden Bryant who was competing in his first event at top star level. In New Star Junior Sedans Dylan Barrow won the final in front of Seth Sloane and Rye Orme.

    Alexandra Speedway Club now is on hiatus until the third week of October before the new season kicks off.

    Alexandra Speedway Club is very thankful for the support provided by all these businesses in the 19/20 season:
    Alexandra Quality Meats
    Alexandra & Yea Pre-Mix
    Auscon Projects
    Beach Earthmoving
    Bendigo Bank Ringwood East
    Blackburn Trailers
    Campton’s Graphics
    Capital Waste
    Donnaz Underground
    Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
    Endeavour Petroleum
    Exhaust Fix Lilydale
    Fallon’s Bus Services
    Footwork’s Alexandra
    Good Guys Performance
    GYB Civil
    Healesville Directional Drilling
    Highline Racewear
    Lincoln’s Earthmoving
    Linley Estate
    LS Quarry
    Metro Tow
    Onsite Medical Response
    Outer Eastern Steel
    Quality Fire Protection
    Raslaar Engineering
    Revegetation Victoria
    Smooth Suspension
    S & N Builders
    Town & Country Tennis Courts
    Tyrepower Alexandra
    Vern and Jackie Parker DVD’s and Photos
    Waverley Exhaust & Brake Centre

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Alexandra Speedway Club

    One half of the winning team Dale Morrison (C) Vern & Jackie Parker Photography

    Dale Morrison and Lee Beach celebrating (C) Vern & Jackie Parker Photography

    Kasey Garlick won her last ever Junior Sedan race in SSA Top Stars (C) Vern & Jackie Parker Photography

    Dylan Barrow took the win in SSA Junior New Stars (C) Vern & Jackie Parker Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Thursday, December 3, 2020

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, December 5, 2020

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway (Horsham)
  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Collie Speedway
  • Saturday, December 12, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Kingaroy Speedway
  • Saturday, December 19, 2020

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, December 26, 2020

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Monday, December 28, 2020

  • Borderline Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Wednesday, December 30, 2020

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, January 1, 2021

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, January 2, 2021

  • Riverland Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Manjimup Speedway