• In what was a history making evening last Saturday night at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway Robbie Farr added his name to list of winners of the South Australian Late Model Championship as he led all 20 laps of the Championship finale. Farr joined a distinguished list of winners of the event, that also includes Supercars racer Cam Waters, as he defeated New South Wales driver Darryl Grimson and Victorian Brendan Hucker in what was an extremely impressive performance.

    After starting on the front row Farr would lead the entire way although he was challenged for the lead just prior to the half way point by Brendan Hucker, who was making his first outing in a Late Model at MMS. Hucker looked set to finish in the runner-up spot only to lose it with three laps remaining as Darryl Grimson made a late charge. Victorian veteran Gary Bryans was next ahead of local Ryan Alexander, who bounced back well in the final after a disappointing qualifying effort.

    The top ten was rounded out David Doherty, Fiona Verhoeven, Nathan Disney, Zac Tyson and rookie Jason Robinson.

    Unfortunately, the race saw several caution periods and a number of retirements including former Australian Champion Callum Harper who was running second and making an impressive run on the top groove before his right rear tyre exploded with seven laps remaining. Other notable retirements were Brad Smith, Mat Crimmins and Tim Bink.

    With the South Australian Title doubling as the Ultimate Speedway Challenge the event attracted a field of 17 drivers from across Australia making it the best Late Model field seen in South Australia since last season’s Australian Championship.

    Farr started the night in the best possible fashion as won the opening heat on a greasy track defeating Brendan Hucker by over 2.5 seconds. After leading early local hope Ryan Alexander fell back to third with Callum Harper and Nathan Disney rounding out the top 5. Darryl Grimson was the next driver to visit victory lane as he won the second 10 lap preliminary ahead of Brad Smith, David Doherty, Tim Bink and Steve Vaughan.

    The second round of heats saw former Australian Champion Callum Harper win comfortably over Nathan Disney and Brendan Hucker while Mat Crimmins finally got a win on the board for the locals as he won the final heat after a great battle with Victorian veteran Gary Bryans. Brad Smith would finish third with Tim Bink and Mildura’s Zac Tyson completing the top five.

    The top 6 pole shuffle would go the way of Tasmanian Callum Harper as he defeated Robbie Farr.

    The Late Models will return to the Murray Bridge Speedway on December 1 as part of the program at one of the biggest nights of the season, the Ultimate Pink Night.

    Release By:

    Phil Michell Motorsport Media for SALMA.
    [email protected]
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Moora Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Western Speedway (Hamilton)
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Friday, February 21, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020

  • Laang Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway