False Speedway Net Australia's Number 1 Speedway Web Site - Powered By Eagle Chassis
  • Wahgunyah Speedway held its final nights racing for the season on Saturday the 9th of June with three main feature events to entertain the crowd including the visiting Amca Nationals and the Production Sedan and Goulburn Ovens Sedans 1000 events, wins went the way of Frank Thierry from Mildura, Stephen Laidlaw from Morwell and Nathan Shortis from Mulwala.

    In Production Sedan racing for the Wahgunyah 1000 Laidlaw did not have things all his own way, in fact he did not win any of the three qualifying races with the returning Andrew Cunningham picking up two of the three heat race wins and Bruce Robb who like Cunningham has not done much racing in the last two seasons winning the other.

    Seven entrants greeted the starter for the final with Laidlaw and Cunningham the front two protagonists. The lead two defeated the rest of the field by a long way, almost lapping all of the other five.

    Cunningham led from the start of the race and come lap fifteen as close as the lead two were it the anticipation was gaining momentum for a fairy tale return to the track win for Cunningham, however Laidlaw knows every nook and cranny of Wahgunyah Speedway, he knows every trick in the book also and on the last lap of the race the ‘dream killer’ Laidlaw secured the lead and won from Cunningham, Robb, Rodney Anderson and David Walton.

    Amca Nationals visited from further South with a few cars from around Melbourne whilst the eventual winner was Thierry. Mostly competing with 350 crate engines the eight cylinder sound is like music to some ears within the dirt track world and three qualifying wins were shared by Neale Peachey and then Frank Thierry over Peachey in two very close finishes at the line where both lead racers were less than half a second apart.

    The closeness of the lead two cars continued in a cracking final with Thierry again coming out on top and this time by .256 of a second from Peachey with Tasmanian Rodney Bassett in third and Sharon Tindal fourth across the line.

    Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association competitors were competing in the QA Kitchens supported GOSA 1000 and with enough competitors on hand to ensure six heats the qualifying produced some exciting results, Jamie Atkin took out an impressive heat win first up, then Shortis won the next two, Troy Frost won the fourth then Brendan Brewer and Shortis again making it a clean sweep for him in the heat race results.

    Fourteen cars made it to the start line for the final and the Powell brothers from Beechworth including the Victorian Champion Liam had a tough field to try and beat to close out a great season for them. A list of talented racers failed to finish the race including Peter Little whose car was a little bent after a crash, Chelsea Cornelius, Danny McCarten, Brewer and James Powell.

    Shortis led all twenty laps and went on to make it four from four when he won the final from Liam Powell, Atkin, Sam Davey and Frost.

    Warrick Howie also had a clean sweep night in the Standard Saloons winning all three heat races before winning the final in front of Trev Goldsworthy, Micheal Fleming-Robertson, Team Joosten and Bruce Prichard.

    In the Sports Sedans and Ladies the field was mixed together with Tommy McDonald, Corey McDonald and Gemma Laidlaw coming up trumps as the top three in the final then Troy Peterson in fourth. In Junior Sedan racing Rhys Lansdown was too good for Jake Cottier and Ruby Prichard.

    Corowa - Rutherglen Speedway Club is proudly supported by:
    B & B Freight
    Dickens Engineering
    Canns Bus Lines
    Pigdons Holden Corowa
    Bindaree Caravan Park
    QA Kitchens
    Dunkley Panels
    Elite Body & Paint
    McLardy McShane Insurance & Financial Services
    Milthorpe Transport
    Winton Motor Raceway
    McCartie Motors
    Corowa Upholstery
    Corowa Furnishings and Floors
    Dawson’s Haulage
    Stevo’s Painting Services
    Cellarbrations Wahgunyah
    Hartnett Transport
    Heritage Motor Inn
    Upton’s Steel Supplies
    All Day Electrics Rutherglen
    Marshall Batteries
    Wangaratta Radiators
    A1 Oils and Batteries
    Hunter Electrical
    Cofield & Co Plumbing
    Corowa Super IGA
    Rod Stone Automotive
    Max Maclean Building Supplies
    Maverick Marine
    Wahgunyah Rock Yard
    BJ Burton Trophies
    Quantum Printing
    Corowa Meats
    Vern & Jackie Parker DVD

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Corowa –Rutherglen Speedway Club

    Stephen Laidlaw won the Wahgunyah 1000 for Production Sedans (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Frank Thierry won the AMCA Nationals (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

    Nathan Shortis won the QA Kitchens GOSA 1000 (C) Vern and Jackie Parker Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, February 23, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, March 2, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 9, 2019

  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, March 10, 2019

  • Simpson Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Friday, March 15, 2019

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Saturday, March 16, 2019

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 22, 2019

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, March 23, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Friday, March 29, 2019

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 30, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway