Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • After falling one spot short of claiming the Australian Championship the week prior, Western Australian Craig Vosbergen bounced back to claim the South Australian Late Model Championship at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway last weekend. The event was staged over 2 nights with Vosbergen winning both the Preliminary A-Main on Friday Night before totally dominating the 25-lap finale on Saturday, lapping all but the runner-up and defending Champion Ben Nicastri.

    Third across the line in the Championship decider was Matt Crimmins with New South Welshman Wade Carter getting the better of Steve Vaughan to claim fourth, while Queenslander Brett Watson and Warrnambool’s Fiona Verhoeven were the only other classified finishers.

    After an impressive opening night local hope Ryan Alexander only lasted 3 laps before mechanical dramas sidelined the #36 Club29 chassis while Carter Armstrong and Zack Tyson also failed to make it to the chequered flag.

    “This doesn’t really make up for the one we lost last weekend, but it is a great reward for my guys who have put in such a huge effort over the past couple weeks. At least we are heading home with one championship. We could have packed up and headed home and raced in Perth tonight, but we wanted to stay and support this race. I can’t thank SALMA and the Murray Bridge Speedway enough for the effort that they have put in” added Craig on the podium.

    The format for the weekend saw two heats and a preliminary feature on night 1 with a further heat and A-Main on night 2.

    Vosbergen kicked off his Championship campaign with a heat win over Ryan Alexander and Nicastri while heat two was one of the best late model heats of the season as Nicastri went from third to the race lead on the final corner with a three-wide outside pass for the lead. Crimmins would finish second by .220 of a second ahead of Vosbergen, Carter and Alexander.

    The 20-lap preliminary would see all 10 cars make it to the finish with Vosbergen leading home Nicastri, Alexander, Watson, an impressive Verhoeven, Carter, Vaughan, Crimmins, Carter Armstrong and Zack Tyson completing the field.

    The final heat prior to the final was also claimed by Vosbergen therefore the Western Australian was only defeated in one race all weekend making Craig Vosbergen a worthy winner of the South Australian Championship.

    SALMA would like to thank the following corporate partners for their assistance throughout the 2017/18 Late Model season: Roadside Services and Solutions, The Gourmet Chef, Chris Milton Engine Developments, Gauge Works, Active Batteries, Lonsdale Competition Tyres, Signs On Para, Picko’s Photos, Phil Michell Motorsport Media.

    Ends Release

    Release by:

    Phil Michell Motorsport Media for SALMA
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Moora Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Western Speedway (Hamilton)
  • Friday, February 21, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020

  • Borderline Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Laang Speedway