False Speedway Net Australia's Number 1 Speedway Web Site - Powered By Eagle Chassis
Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • An enormous field of Australian, NZ and USA Sprintcar giants will converge on Sydney’s iconic Valvoline Raceway this Friday and Saturday for the running of the most prestigious race of the season each and every season.

    The Scott Darley Challenge honours the memory of a popular young racer who was tragically killed racing a Sprintcar in 2008 and ever since drivers from all over the world have been determined to line up in it and possibly score the lucrative win.

    “The prizemoney is excellent,” says USA based Sydneysider Brooke Tatnell who flies back into Sydney tomorrow (Wednesday) “in fact it’s the richest possible payout in the country, but it’s not about that. This race is about honour. And remembering. And respect. You can’t buy those things.”

    Tatnell, a multiple Australian and World Series Sprintcars Champion and living legend who grew up racing at the then named “Parramatta City Raceway” has put together a crack team based out of Mount Gambier in South Australia.

    This weekend he’ll face the team he previously raced for, Krikke Motorsport, for the first time since leaving the team at the end of the previous season.

    Not someone who ever needs extra determination to win the second-generation racer who leaves the deep snow and sub-zero degree temperatures of Minnesota in the USA is naturally fired up to make his home town visit successful.

    Tatnell has joined forces with Ashley and Ray Scott in Mount Gambier and re-enlisted a potent piece of the package in his previous crew chief (mechanic) Pete Caporn from Bunbury in Western Australia.

    “We’re a bit of a mix and match team aren’t we,” grins Tatnell, “our mechanic is from WA, our team is from South Australia and I’m a Sydneysider living in America. No matter where we’re all from though we all have one thing in common and that’s the desire to win. And the desire to win this weekend first and foremost.”

    Tatnell, whilst fired up to race against his own team and their new driver Jamie Veal, is under no illusions though that there are some seventy others he must also face on the 460cm Parramatta clayway.

    “The quality of the field is really testimony to the esteem that surrounds this race,” Tatnell admits, “you only have to look at both the number of entries and the achievements that many of them bring to the table to see that. Everyone wants to be here.”

    Tatnell’s words ring true as just on cue the 2016 Knoxville Nationals winner Jason Johnson from Louisiana makes a last-minute entry.

    “Our schedule just kinda freed up,” Johnson admits, “so we thought let’s go to Sydney and run the Darley. It was kind of a spur of the moment thing but it’s a great race and there’s a ton of good cars there. It’s never easy at Parramatta though.”

    Every State and Territory is represented in the Australian line up plus New Zealand resident racer Dean Brindle and six American stars – five of which are making their 2017/2018 Valvoline Raceway debut.

    Teenager Buddy Kofoid has been at all of the events over December 26 to January 1 but after a successful race at Murray Bridge in South Australia last weekend he’s back in Sydney to be joined by Californians Carson Macedo, Geoff Ensign, Dominic Scelzi, Pennslyvania’s Logan Schuchart and Louisiana’s Jason Johnson.

    Returning to the foray also are World Series Sprintcars Champions James McFadden, David Murcott, Steven Lines and Jamie Veal, and also multiple Australian title holder Kerry Madsen who (like Tatnell) is also on a brief trip back to Sydney to contest this weekend and selected other major races in January.

    The defending champion of the race is Tasmanian star Shaun Dobson who powered away to a sensational win last year to score an historic landmark victory for drivers from the Apple Isle and record one of his career best moments in the process.

    With veterans, rookies and newcomers alike entered into this Friday and Saturday night’s event the public is assured of some heart stopping competition and some raw emotion on the line with each passing lap.

    “Every one of us wants to win the Scott Darley Challenge,” admits Tatnell, “we’re here to compete and line up in the honour of the event but we all want our name on that trophy. It’s not just a race to any of us.”



    Gates open 2pm
    Action from 5pm

    Adults $35
    Pension $25
    Juniors (13-15yrs) $20
    Family Pass (2 adults 2 juniors) $80
    Kids 12 and under FREE when accompanied by an adult

    Location: 21 Wentworth Street, Clyde NSW

    www.valvolineraceway.com.au or like Valvoline Raceway on Facebook.

    Support Classes: Legend Cars (Friday) Street Stocks (Saturday)


    A 1 Madsen Kerry
    USA 1 Schuchart Logan (USA)
    D 2 Atkinson Ben
    W 2 Veal Jamie
    NQ 3 Lines Steven
    Q 3 Hoffmans Karl
    NQ 4 Walsh Michael
    NQ 5 Reidy Danny
    N 5 Thomas Dean
    V 5 Dumesny Max
    NS 6 Geering Matt
    Q 6 Rowell Steven
    Q 7 Farr Robbie
    NS 7 Williamson Callum
    N 10 Stirton Luke
    USA 11 Kofoid Buddy (USA)
    N 12 Jeffrey Thomas
    N 14 Gordon Peter
    NS 14 Seton Robert
    NS 15 Cassidy Daniel
    N 16 Sayre Daniel
    W 17 McFadden James
    N 18 Stanshall Guy
    N 20 Little Troy
    N 21 Brazier Garry
    NS 21 Brazier Jordyn
    VA 21 Dobson Shaun
    N 22 Thompson James
    NS 22 Cassidy Jess
    NZ 22 Brindle Dean
    N 24 Skipper Blake
    V 25 Lee Jack
    W26 Jason Johnson (USA)
    N 32 Ferguson Warren
    NS 35 Anthony Kaitlyn
    Q 36 Gee Mitchell
    Q 37 Ensign Geoff (USA)
    S 37 Kelly Terry
    V 37 Anderson Grant
    N 40 McInerney Chris
    N 41 Lawler Jeff
    Q 42 Bonsey Kristy
    N 43 Orr Alex
    N 45 Thomas Matthew
    S 45 Tranter Jake
    Q 46 Menz Dylan
    N 47 Dumesny Marcus
    N 48 Delamont Jackson
    NS 48 Darcy Blake
    N 49 Madsen Ian
    N 52 Attard Mark
    N 53 Attard Jessie
    N 54 Tunks Grant
    V 55 Tatnell Brooke
    N 56 Saller Mick
    N 57 Dumesny Matthew
    NS 57 Scorgie Brendan
    N 61 Matchett Michael
    N 64 Sheedy Shane
    N 68 Duckworth James
    N 71 Ohehir Courtney
    N 73 Salmon Darren
    N 78 Wright Andrew
    N 81 Lagerlow Graham
    Q 81 Jennings Kris
    N 83 O'Neill Peter
    Q 83 Murcott David
    N 84 Freeman Paul
    W 87 Dowling Carl
    N 89 Wilmington Braydan
    NS 91 Street Chris
    N 92 Walsh Sam
    U 97 Scelzi Dominic (USA)
    W 97 Wormall Mitch
    N 99 Macedo Carson (USA)
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Wednesday, January 23, 2019

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, January 26, 2019

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, January 27, 2019

  • Esperance Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, February 2, 2019

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway (Horsham)
  • Northam Motorsports Park
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, February 9, 2019

  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Heartland Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Westline Speedway
  • Friday, February 15, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, February 16, 2019

  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Attwell Park Speedway (Albany)
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Thursday, February 21, 2019

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Friday, February 22, 2019

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, February 23, 2019

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)