• This Saturday night January 13th, Rushworth Speedway Club’s season restarts after the festive season break with the Grand Prix Midgets ‘Ironbark Classic’ and the visiting 3 Litre Sedans, whilst local heroes in all the Goulburn Valley club classes resume their point score battles.

    The race meeting also is the biggest event of the season for club Open Saloon and Production Sedan Racers, the Paul Benton Memorial.

    Grand Prix Midget racing as usual will be flat out with the ‘Mosquito fleet’ of just over 1000cc powered machines zipping around the wide expanses of Rushworth. The gun driver to beat coming off a win at Redline and last weekend at Goulburn in New South Wales will be Trevor Perry. Hot on his heels will be drivers from around Victoria including the likes of locals Dennis Myers (Shepparton) and Lisa Chalcraft (Mooroopna).

    In 3 Litre Sedan action Bendigo’s Lennie Clark leads the charge with Andrew Ahearn, Steve Ellis and Wangaratta racer Andrew Robl amongst challengers. The class has a large contingent of drivers with ties to the Bendigo area and the Goulburn Valley and the action will be thick and fast at the front.

    Local battles in all four club classes will resume also with the Box versus Lamb battle in Opens again in the spotlight, however their battle will be in amongst the competition for the Paul Benton Memorial that will have Open Saloons and of course the GV Production Sedans competing for the prestigious honour of winning the race recognising the former club President.

    Defending champion Phil Lamb won’t be competing and wishes everybody the best of luck this weekend. ‘Winning the Benton Memorial is on par with winning the club championship, it’s one of the two biggest victories a driver at Rushworth can have. I wish everybody the best of luck and encourage everybody to be sporting this weekend to honour Paul who left a great legacy here at Rushworth.’

    Amongst the top runners Mark Cecil and Thomas Conboy with their Open Saloons will look to upset Paul Lamb and Adam Box. Cecil will hope to ‘slay’ the V8s again whilst Conboy hopes to continue to keep his run of form going.

    Production Sedan competitors in the line up include last season’s club champion Wayne O’Keefe who is back on track. He will be hunting victory along with Shane Hutchins and Leigh Jeffery who have both already won this season.

    It won’t be easy to win the Benton Memorial and there is every chance somebody else in the field can pop up with victory.

    Chloe Lamb will look to continue her dominance in the Ladies Saloon field, however as usual it is going to be tough. Rachel Pratt returns from Modified Sedan racing and Kelly Lamb and Felicity Roycroft who have been giving Chloe a hard time so far this season will not let up either and Belinda Chalcraft will be in and amongst the front runners. It could be a tight tussle to the very end.

    Finally the Junior Sedans racing will see Josh Fitzpatrick trying to defend his ranking as the categories number one driver against Josh and Luke Cecil, Tristan McGraw and Daniel Smith. Can any of the challengers take a big win? We will all see on Saturday night with all the great action sure to thrill.

    Racing begins from 4pm with entry costs $25 per adult, aged pensioners are $15, kids 12 to 16 are $12.50 each and under the age of 12 is FREE, whilst a family of 2 adults and 2 kids 12 to 16 is $60

    The Goulburn Valley Auto Club would like to thank the following supporters:
    Super Balance Automotive –Shepparton
    WG Panels – Rochester
    Provac Poultry Services – Bendigo
    Bourke Fencing – Bendigo
    Kyabram Motor Wreckers – Kyabram
    The Rushworth Hotel – Rushworth
    Kyabram Bearings – Kyabram
    Autobarn Shepparton
    Marty Turpin Mechanical – Tatura
    Ipta Fibreglass – Geelong
    Ross Adams Cartage Contractor – Rochester
    Rushworth Bakery – Rushworth
    Maxam Printing – Shepparton
    Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
    Michel Signs – Shepparton
    Sonaray Lighting – Melbourne
    The McIvor – Bendigo
    Superior Concrete & Construction – Bendigo
    A1 Water Supplies – Tatura

    Trevor Perry – Australia 1
    Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
    Dennis Myers – Victoria 11
    Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
    Lisa Chalcraft – Victoria 15
    David Bacon – Victoria 36
    Hayden Bacon – Victoria 37
    Jason Crawford – Victoria 50
    Danny Stainer – Victoria 51
    Sean Denning – Victoria 52
    Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
    Shawn Ward – Victoria 88

    Lennie Clark – Vic 2
    Andrew Ahearn – Vic 3
    Kevin Clarke – Bendigo 4
    Jason Ahearn – Heartland 4
    Michael Boyle – Swan Hill 14
    Andrew Robl – Wangaratta 19
    Troy Britton – Heartland 41
    Sharon Finning – Heartland 67
    Steve Ellis – Horsham 74
    Matt Callanan – Heartland 78

    Adam Box - # 2
    Mark Cecil - # 6
    Gavin Cooper - # 26
    Mark Bergman - # 31
    Braiden Simmonds - # 36
    Scott O’Keefe - # 37
    Brad Simmonds - # 39
    Thomas Conboy - # 56
    Paul Lamb - # 73
    Garry Gapes - # 84
    Darren Hodge - # 95

    Wayne O’Keefe - # 1
    Shane Hutchins - # 10
    Bevan Hutchins - # 18
    Leigh Jeffery - # 29
    Rod Burchett - # 52
    Scott Smith - # 58
    Dale Smith - # 59
    Tyler Gahan - # 60
    Teejay Pollard - # 65

    Chloe Lamb – # 2
    Belinda Chalcraft - # 15
    Tara Mitchell - # 25
    Maddie Naismith - # 35
    Kelly Lamb - # 77
    Nicole Gapes - # 84
    Erin Wall - # 85
    Rachel Pratt - # 94
    Chelsea Hodge - # 95
    Linette Moore - # 104
    Felicity Roycroft - # 165

    Josh Fitzpatrick - # 1
    Josh Cecil - # 6
    Luke Cecil - # 7
    Tristan McGraw - # 38
    Daniel Smith - # 58

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Goulburn Valley Auto Club
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Valvoline Raceway