Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Nyora Raceway closed its season with the annual Bob Hickson Memorial for Open Sedans on a show that included the Crash and Bash and National Junior Sedans, Ardley won the prestigious event six days after purchasing the car in which he won the race in whilst Dale Morrison came through to take the win in the Crash and Bash and Tim Gorski won the Junior Sedans.

    Open Sedan competition had competitors scheduled in two heat races each before the top twenty on points qualified for the final fifty lap race, the rest went on to compete in a last chance race where four more drivers progressed into the feature event.

    Brad Warren who had recently finished second in a 100 Lap event at Alexandra won both his qualifying races as did Ardley. Leigh Bourke, Lenny Bates, Warrick Taylor and Stephen Laidlaw won the other heat races and at stages all four of them were in the top five of the race, in the case of Taylor and Laidlaw they were serious contenders for the possible win at the time of their demise which was a torn up tyre for Taylor and a wheel coming off the car for Laidlaw.

    The Hickson Memorial is always a race of attrition with some damage expected as various types of cars compete with each other on the tight little track. Shona Bent, Peter Cox, Taylor, Rob Tatterson then Laidlaw were amongst the early casualties.

    Not before Taylor and Ardley had exchanged the lead a couple of times though. After Taylor’s race ended Warren tried to keep the pressure on Ardley however as the traffic became less, it became easier for Ardley to keep distance between he and Warren.

    When the chequered flag dropped Ardley had claimed the win from Warren, Bates, Dale Mead and Nick Hill who started in twenty second spot before climbing to fifth, four of the top five drivers all from the Nyora Club. Earlier Rob Bushell, Gemma Laidlaw, Mick Evans and Darren O’Brien had earnt a run in the feature by virtue of a top four finish in the B Main.

    In the Junior Sedans, Tim Gorski claimed wins in the first two qualifiers before Ayden Bellman took a win in the third. Gorski, Bellman, Ricky Cornwall, Ally Morrison and Jack Ramsdale were the usual top five during the heats before Gorski won the fifteen lap final from Cornwall who was quickly reeling in Gorski in the concluding laps with Bellman then Ramsdale and Morrison rounding out the top five.

    Crash and Bash action included a lot of biff and barge and Scott Van Loo got smacked around like a drunk out the front of bar and probably wished he left the car at home, whilst Alan George went up and over for a wild rollover in turn one and two and walked away whilst the Ford Station Wagon looked more like a Mini Cooper Station Wagon by the time it finished rolling.

    Warren and Bushell were competing in two classes for the day and Bushell won the first heat against Warren after a spin payback from earlier in the race was dished out when Bushell spun Warren at the bottom end of the track to take the lead and go on to win. Jake Young won the second heat after starting from last and coming through the field into the lead before lap one had finished. Med Medley and Warren won the second round qualifiers then Morrison and Warren again in round three.

    In the feature race Warren had complete control of the race for much of it, however these type of races you can be brought un-stuck quickly with Warren spinning on his own without contact as Morrison was working his way through spinning others around him making a path towards the front as other competitors kept dropping away.

    Morrison then in a fashion reminiscent of Steven Bradbury the typical Australian hero found himself in the lead of the race and went on to take victory from James Kane, Ron George, Kris Bevenja the surprise new guy in the event and Andrew Miles.

    Nyora begins its next season in October and anybody interested in being involved is encouraged to follow the club on social media and make contact with the club.

    Nyora Raceway Inc also would like to thank their supporters for 16/17
    Ramsdale Wreckers Pakenham
    Miles Mechanical Pakenham
    Total Autos Pakenham
    Tooradin Sports Club
    Fun City Entertainment Complex
    Moe Recyclers
    ARP Earthworks
    All Care Exhausts Pakenham
    Bass Concreting
    John Duff & CO - Shell
    Omni Fluid Handling Solutions
    Flatout Trailers & Fabrication
    CBM Photography
    Onsite Rental Group
    Mornington Motors
    Peninsula District Towing
    Somerville Motor Body Works
    EPH Construction
    Fun City Sunshine
    Yarra Valley Speedway Kart Club
    Ultimate Awards
    BAM Inspect & Build
    Pakenham Accident Repairs
    Phoenix Lubricants
    BGN Auto Glass Pakenham
    Cheap Tyres Morwell
    QP Lubricants
    Affordable Auto Salvage
    Ripper Sticker
    Kool Freighters
    Taylor’d Fabrications
    Russell Steel
    Polish N Shine
    Heartfelt Candles
    Dandenong Pest Control
    Narre Warren Flooring
    ANZ Carpentry
    Stephenson Transport

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Nyora Raceway Inc.

    Bob Hickson Memorial Winner Shane Ardley in the # 62 (C) Random Panda Photography

    Crash and Bash Winner Dale Morrison Celebrating (C) Random Panda Photography

    Junior Sedans, Tim Gorski leads Ayden Bellman (C) Random Panda Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 26, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, July 7, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, July 27, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 28, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 10, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 17, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 18, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 24, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 25, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, August 30, 2018

  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Saturday, September 15, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 13, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 20, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 3, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Speedway
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, December 1, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, December 8, 2018

  • TBA ( To Be Announced )
  • Wednesday, December 26, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, January 5, 2019

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, January 12, 2019

  • Simpson Speedway
  • Saturday, February 2, 2019

  • Blue Ribbon Raceway (Horsham)
  • Saturday, February 9, 2019

  • Heartland Speedway