• Yesterday evening (Sunday June 11) the 2016/17 South Australian Speedway season officially came to end with the running of the 2017 Steve Butcher Street Stock Memorial at the Sunline Speedway at Waikerie. In what was an entertaining afternoon of racing it was the Australian Champion Rhys Heinrich who claimed the Memorial trophy for the fifth time in the past six years.

    After starting on the pole Heinrich led the entire journey with the race taking over 33 minutes to complete with a staggering 28 caution laps being completed. In fact, the caution flag came out on six separate occasions with only 1 lap in the books. As a result of the time taken the race was cut from 20 to 15 laps.

    Second across the line was Nigel Reichstein with Victorian Brooke Ferguson completing the podium after being sent to the rear of the field on the opening lap after spinning out Steve Heinrich in turn three.

    Steve Heinrich would finish fourth with Anthony Buchanan, Mildura’s Wade Fell, Hayden Jolly, Tony Schultz and Darren Flatman completing the finishers.

    Earlier the heat winners were Rhys Heinrich, Jason Gibbs, Des Birkin and Nigel Reichstein.

    The Modified Sedans were also contesting a blue-ribbon event as the Sunline Modified Sedan Championship was on offer with the feature event being dominated by Mildura residents. David Smith just edged out Wade McCarthy by .289 of a second with Ben Tuttle the best of the locals in third.

    The final show of the year also included AMCA Nationals, Modlites, Wingless Sprints, Junior and Super Sedans.

    The AMCA Nationals were clearly produced the best racing of the day with Jeremy Moore winning the feature ahead of Darren McCarthy and Jason Robinson. Jeremy Fenner, Kelsey Allen, Jamie Nichols, Leanne Turner, Ben Aworth, Travis Litterini and Tegan Martin completed the top 10. Earlier in the day Moore had stormed through the 12-car field to win the opening heat before finishing second to McCarthy in heat 2.

    In the remaining support classes Scott Wedd defeated Matt Egel and Brian Chadwick in the 12 lap Modlite final and in the process, he set a new track record of 3:25.869, Nathan Thorne edged out Heath Thorne in the Junior Sedans, Lucy Evans won the Wingless Sprints while Jason Gantz claimed is first feature event win as he defeated a small field of Super Sedans.

    Article and photos supplied by Phil Michell Motorsport Media.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Sunday, March 18, 2018

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tamworth
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway