Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • This Saturday Wahgunyah Speedway managed by the local Corowa – Rutherglen Speedway Club will hold another ripper Speedway show attracting fans from right around the Murray and from as far as Canberra, Gippsland, Geelong and Swan Hill to enjoy a night at the skids where the new Victorian Champion for Legend Cars, New South Wales Champion for Modified Sedans and Lachie Howie Memorial Winner for Standard Saloons will be decided in a great nights entertainment.

    Drivers for the Legend Cars New South Wales title are mostly from Sydney, Goulburn and Canberra with a couple others from outside of those areas, watch for Paul Opray, Bryan Neal, Glenn Mitchell, Mick Hebditch and Shane Younger who grew up racing in Victoria to take a liking to the Wahgunyah Speedway.

    The New South Wales Rapid Performance Modified Sedan title has attracted Rodney Pammenter who is without doubt in the top three competitors in the nation in the class to do battle with local track hero Trevor Mills. Both of those will have their hands full with Mark Carlin a multiple winner of national titles and a number of young guns such as Ty Galley, Kye Walters and Daniel Simpson keen to put a Modified Sedan state title in their achievements list.

    Robert Faux, Russell Bent and Paul Egan are some really tough competition that will also be in and amongst the front running action and it is a tough guess as to who might win, Pammenter however has a winning history at the track picking up a $3000 pay check once previously, he won’t want to blot the copy book this Saturday.

    In Standard Saloon action the Lachie Howie Memorial honours a former young member of the club who like his elder brother Warrick who is now the Victorian champion in Standard Saloons, could have been a champion everybody would have looked up to if it hadn’t of been for tragic circumstances to take him away from his family.

    Competitors that will be trying to take the trophy back home with them include Geelong’s Scott Whittle and Jay Dickson, Mornington Peninsula racers Craig Templeton and Nick Chrystie, Morwell’s Shane Stewart, Bendigo’s Aaron Marshall, Pakenham’s Brad Hill and Ladies Sara Benson from South Gippsland and Sarah Meakins from Kilmore.

    The competition in any regards will be very tough with a winner pre race no easy pick.

    Junior Sedans and a Speedcar demonstration are also part of the programming on a great night of motorsport.

    Sponsors for the Blue Ribbon Howie Memorial race are
    Heat 1 – BB Freight
    Heat 2 – Federation Tyrepower
    Heat 3 – Mills Racing
    Heat 4 – Team Ramrod
    Heat 5 – Brodie Montague
    Heat 6 – IPTA Fibreglass
    Heat 7 – Stuart Densem
    Heat 8 – Ipta Fibreglass
    Heat 9 – Corowa – Rutherglen Speedway Club

    Best Presented Standard Saloon – Maverick Marine
    Hard Luck Award – Ramsdale Wreckers Pakenham
    First Holden – Mick & Leigh Augustyn
    First Ford – Eames Racing
    Leader of Lap 5 – Morey Warnock Automotive
    Furthest Travelled – SuperAxe WoodSplitters
    Feature Race Hard Charger – Ramsdale Wreckers Pakenham

    Brendon Eames – Corowa 15
    Warrick Howie – Victoria 1
    Jaimi Barber – Corowa 6
    Aaron Meakins/Tevor Kuhne – Alexandra 17
    Tom Lambert – Swan Hill 12
    Tom Kuhne – Corowa 22
    Nick Chrystie – Alexandra 10
    Cory Horter – Alexandra 73
    Kenneth Mankey – Wangaratta 76
    Micheal Fleming-Robertson – Corowa 18
    Rod Milthorpe – Corowa 24
    Leighton Warburton – Swan Hill 31
    Hayden Glare – Swan Hill 99
    Brad Hill – Nyora 36
    Mitch Blencowe – Drouin 10
    Team Joosten – Corowa 46
    Shannon Meakins – Alexandra 84
    Debbie Jones – Alexandra 36
    Scott Whittle – Geelong 6
    Andrew Robl – Wangaratta 21
    Craig Templeton – Redline 12
    Stuart Densem – Wangaratta 66
    Sarah Meakins – Alexandra 67
    Shane Stewart – Victoria 2
    Jay Dickson – Redline 31
    Aaron Marshall – Swan Hill 85
    Sara Benson – Nyora 21
    Geoff Bowers – Mount Beauty 4

    Brad Wise – NSW 45
    Shane Murphy – ACT 75
    Rodney Pammenter – QLD 8
    Trevor Mills - NSW 110
    Daniel Patten – ACT 47
    Mark Carlin – VIC 12
    Daniel Simpson – VIC 33
    Rachel Pratt – VIC 94
    Greg Stevenson – ACT 3
    Robert Faux – VIC 5
    Paul Egan – ACT 22
    John Murphy – NSW 15
    Kye Walters – VIC 15
    Dave Clapson – NSW 77
    Ty Galley – VIC 88
    Russell Bent – VIC 13

    Troy Bolton – ACT 2
    Bryan Neal – ACT 4
    Michael Hebditch – ACT 8
    Andrew Broers – ACT 18
    Scott Bennet – ACT 21
    Anthony Broers – ACT 23
    Paul Cassidy – NSW 27
    Glenn Mitchell – NSW 41
    Jacob Griffin – NSW 44
    Jim McCabe – NSW 47
    Michael Lucas – NSW 60
    Greg Thompson – ACT 63
    Paul Opray – ACT 68
    Shane Younger – NSW 71
    Bruce Alderson – NSW 86
    Liam Heaton – ACT 89

    Toby Carmichael – Corowa 93
    Ashleeh Bunt – Corowa 84
    Ruby Prichard – Mount Beauty 25
    Zac Twomey – Wangaratta 33

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Corowa – Rutherglen Speedway Club t/a Wahgunyah Speedway

    Victorian Standard Saloon Champion Warrick Howie defends his Memorial Win (C) Inaction Photos

    Legend Cars return to Wahgunyah where Glenn Mitchell was last winner

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 25, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Manjimup Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017

  • Westline Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, December 10, 2017

  • Adelaide Motorsport Park
  • Tuesday, December 12, 2017

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, December 16, 2017

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Carrick Speedway