Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Ballarat’s’ Redline Raceway continues to provide the best Street Stock action in the country and last weekend’s Gold Rush was no exception, and while Anthony Beare scored yet another premier Redline win he was a little fortunate along the way to defeating a stellar field that included current and former National Champions.

    Beare eventually beat current national champ Rhys Heinrich by one tenth of a second with Aus. #2 Lenny Bates 3rd coming out on top of a tight pack that included Darren Giacometti the Queensland champion (from the B-Main) and South Australian Jayden Edwards.

    Brad McClure got the jump in the final to beat Steven Gartner to the completion of the first lap as an exciting multi car pack battled it out. Gartner took the lead on lap five and then McClure grabbed it back on lap eight for a single pass.

    Gartner and McClure each led one each of the next two laps, followed by Gartner leading a couple more. McClure gained control from lap fourteen until lap seventeen when Beare hit the front. The whole time a massive gaggle of cars had all been in contention.

    McClure shadowed Beare until lap twenty nine when he retook the lead for a lap, but as his rear end began to fail Beare retook the point from the luckless McClure. The problem became patently obvious as the field rolled around under caution for another incident with McClure’s’ right rear wheel on a severe angle.

    On the resumption Bates was in second but Heinrich quickly took up the mantle chasing Beare to the flag from his eighth place starting position then in third was Bates, Mick Clark, Giacometti, Edwards and Jaidyn Dredge who was outstanding having started from eighteenth position.

    The B-Main had been won by Giacometti from Shane Roycroft, Dredge, and Nathan Dunn.

    The last chance C-Main fell to Darren Paisley from Chris Bohdal.

    The top 8 dash was taken out by Gartner from McClure, Beare, Edwards, Bates, Mick Dann, Clarke and Darren Forrest.

    Heat wins were Scored by McClure (3), Gartner (3), Bates, Forrest, Beare and Edwards with two apiece and Dann, David Barrie, Darryl Atkinson, Paul Hayes, Scott Purdie and Clarke all taking single wins.

    Late Model Sedans were a welcome addition to the final night with many teams, including the current national champion Callum Harper, making the overnight haul back from Parramatta on the Saturday night for the Firecracker 5000.

    Lessons learnt from the recent Aussie Championship held local ace Michael Hetherington in good stead as he took his first Late Model feature from the previous night’s winner Daniel Barton, Steve Vaughan, Chevy Edwards and New Zealand’s Kristin Vermeulen.

    Both Cameron Pearson and Harper were unlucky suffering flat tyres when well placed.

    In the open sedans Sean Lister continued his Redline domination winning from Tim Hutchinson and Lucas Conder.

    The night before the Victorian Mini Sprint series round was won by Darren Schnoor from Jason Lynn and Owen Schnoor and in Junior Sedans Tyler Barton took the win from Darcy Wilson and Darcy Giblin and in V8 Thunder Sedans the weekend was decided on points with a win to Tim McCubbin from Kieran Brennan Jnr and Steve Hodder.

    Belmont Speedway Drivers Club thanks the following supporters:

    Ipta Fibreglass
    PR Fittings
    Trax Racewear
    A.Y Electrical
    Hennessy Transport
    Dean Miller Photography
    Rock Solid Productions
    I C Weeds & Gardening Geelong
    Whitehorse Freightliners & Mercedes Benz Truck Centre
    United Forklift & Access Solutions
    Lister Automotive
    Revolution Racegear
    SPW Engineering
    Allsport Trophies
    Steve Forte Metal Fabrications
    S.D Canvas
    Johnny Dyno Engines
    Metowu Mechanical Services
    Redline Race Engines
    Pedder’s Suspension
    Norman Street Automotive
    Duo Mobile
    Burson Autoparts
    UBC Web Design
    Bulleen Towing
    WBW Metal Fabrications
    Dann’s Auto Wrecking
    Jeff’s Auto Detailing
    Autoparts Professionals
    Leejay Trailers
    IG & JL Greville
    Natrad Ballarat
    PP Designs
    Power FM

    Written by
    Brett Swanson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Belmont Speedway Drivers Club t/a Redline Raceway

    Gold Rush winner Anthony Beare (C) Dean Miller Photography

    Firecracker 5000 winner for Late Models Mick Hetherington (C) Dean Miller Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 26, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, July 7, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, July 27, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 28, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 10, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 17, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 18, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 24, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 25, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, August 30, 2018

  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Saturday, September 15, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 13, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 20, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 3, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Heartland Speedway
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, December 1, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, December 8, 2018

  • TBA ( To Be Announced )
  • Wednesday, December 26, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, January 5, 2019

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, January 12, 2019

  • Simpson Speedway
  • Saturday, February 2, 2019

  • Blue Ribbon Raceway (Horsham)
  • Saturday, February 9, 2019

  • Heartland Speedway