Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Last night at Adelaide’s Speedway City Brooke Tatnell became the first two times winner of the George Tatnell Sprintcar Cup as he led all 35 laps after starting from the outside of the front row. After being defeated by Jamie Veal in the JRR Pole Shuffle Brooke wasn’t going to be denied victory in the race that honours his father as he totally dominated the final to defeat a fast finishing Steven Lines and Veal.

    “All your wins are special whether it was your first or your last but I really wanted to win this one again. The best thing about this race is that Wendy (Turner) and Bob (Sincock) put this race on before my dad died. It wasn’t created as a memorial race it was created to celebrate the contribution that he had made to the sport in South Australia throughout the years with Kym Bonython at Rowley Park and then later here at Speedway City.

    The one thing that would make this even better would be to have my Family here. You could bet there would be another GT up here trying to take this trophy off me but he will see it when I get home as this one is definitely going home with me” added Brooke during the presentation.

    Lines actually only got to second with just over a lap remaining after Veal appeared to be slowing and after the race had been completed he confirmed that he had developed a misfire in the engine with about 15 laps remaining.

    Fourth place went to Brad Keller, who bounced back superbly after rolling over the night prior, got the better of Luke Dillon in a great race long battle while Kyle Hirst, Daniel Pestka, Matthew Dumesny, Matt Egel and Daniel Harding completed the top 10.

    Brendan Guerin was the only major casualty of the main event after he got into the back of Daniel Harding and after spinning he slammed into the turn one wall backwards totally destroying the back end of his chassis.

    Brock Hallett was the winner of the Hard Charger Award after finishing 12th after starting from position 19.

    The heats proved to be extremely tough as several cars didn’t get past the preliminary rounds including James McFadden who totally destroyed his power plant as it self-destructed in heat two. Veteran racer Jamie Cobby suffered the same fate in heat three while Shannon Barry also felt a vibration in his engine during the opening round of heats putting him out for night.

    The night also ended early for Michael Burford and Aidan Hall who were involved a huge accident in turn four after Todd Wigzell had a half lose right in front of the field in heat six. The impact between Hall and Buford resulted in both cars rolling in spectacular fashion will Hall sustaining a crack to the chassis.

    The heat winners were Brad Keller, Jamie Veal, Luke Dillon, Daniel Harding, Matthew Dumesny, Brendan Guerin, Jake Tranter and Dan Evans. The final heat of the night, won by Evans, was the best of the night as the local 410ci rookie maintained the lead despite intense pressure from American Kyle Hirst.

    The next meeting at Speedway City will be on February 20 with round 8 of the Revolution Racegear Sprintcar Track Championship with Speedcars, Junior Sedans, AMCA nationals and Street Stocks in support.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Thursday, January 23, 2020

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Friday, January 24, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Saturday, January 25, 2020

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, January 26, 2020

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Friday, January 31, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, February 1, 2020

  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Moora Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020

  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, February 14, 2020

  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020

  • Western Speedway (Hamilton)
  • Sunline Speedway Waikerie
  • Solo Hobart Raceway